Thoughts that Wander Aimlessly

The calendar says it’s Valentine’s Day – to my mind, that is another of those holidays that were great fun when I was a kid, when there would be a party at school with everyone exchanging cards and having treats. It’s nice when couples choose to celebrate the day and do something special, but I’d rather have expressions of love at random times, not those dictated by – who does dictate these things, anyway? Greeting card companies? Then again, maybe we need to be reminded to tell people that we love them.

It is a quiet weekend at my house. My body is telling me I have put off meeting with my chiropractor for far too long, so I am laying low until I go in on Tuesday morning. My body has told me if I don’t lie low, if I try to get active, it will punish me in its own unique way. It has given me a demonstration of that, and I choose to believe it and not test it again.

Shasta has gone out exploring on her own a few times, because I seem unwilling to go for walks. Yesterday, I guess she decided she had explored what’s above the surface enough – it was, apparently, time to dig deeper.
P1050393

And deeper.
P1050396

Heading to China? I don’t know. I do know she found the wires to the sprinkler system in her exploration, and that hole will need to be filled. She has apparently decided there’s nothing of interest down there anyway.

The Bailey girl goes out when she must these days, but occasionally she and Shasta will wander about the yard a bit, after which it is nap time for them both. Bailey says it’s hell getting old, and I commiserate with her, because I sometimes feel the same way.

During our sunny days this past week, we had bright skies in the morning – sailor’s warning? I think not, as the days provided no exciting or threatening weather. However, it seems the path for the commercial airplanes that fly by far away is just over and beyond the hills behind me, their contrails providing consistent lines of color.
P1050388

P1050387

P1050386

Wandering about the yard occasionally, there are some signs that spring will indeed spring – just not quite yet. The lilac bushes are forming buds, as is the pussywillow down below, and yesterday – daffodils popping out! There are some that I think got confused earlier in the fall, but these are new and have come up only in this past week.
20160213_150514

The snow is melting, creating temporary streams in the lower properties down the road from me. Proof that this year has been a better water year than the past two or three.
20160211_152358

Yesterday, when I went out to fill the bird feeders, a chickadee landed on my head. Reflex reaction made me raise my hand to brush it off, after which I wished I had not. I wished I had let it be and hoped it would stay long enough for me to get my phone out of my pocket and take a picture. One of those lost moments – those “Darn! If only . . .” Yep. Do you have those? Maybe one day I will get that opportunity again, and maybe on that day my brain will rule. There is always hope, yes?

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thoughts that Wander Aimlessly

  1. Karma says:

    A chicadee on your head! First Dawn has one on her hand, now you with one on your head. What is going on? I decided this morning that Mother Nature is drunk with power with the ridiculous temperature swings that have been happening here : 60 degress two weeks ago, -10 (yes that’s a negative sign in front of my 10) when I got up this morning. Perhaps the chicadees are partaking of her elixir!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely love the “deep and deeper” photos of Shasta tunneling! Ad yes, now I want a chickadee to land on my head too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dawn says:

    I think you could sit in a lawn chair need the feeder (that would be empty) with oilers or whatever you’ve been feeding them, in your hand, sit still and bet it won’t be very long till you have a chickadee in your hand.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. pattisj says:

    I would love to have seen the Chickadee on your head. I hope you get another chance. Glad you’ve gotten precipitation this year. Shasta might have disappeared if the hole had been any deeper.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Heather says:

    It’s funny how we live in such different worlds. You had so much snow early on while we had none. Now we are all white, and you are growing daffodils.
    My “oh darn” moment today was that I wasn’t about 5 minutes earlier on my arrival for sunrise. It’s also an “oh well” moment, because what else am I going to say? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  6. leendadll says:

    love the pics; love the digging to china; love the bird story (too bad about the reflex); sympathizing with the pain & warnings as I’m experiencing them too. i hope your chiro appt has gone, or is going, well!!

    Like

  7. Lisa says:

    LOL! Tanner was a stealth digger. Always a hole and no one ever claimed responsibility. The sky shots are gorgeous with the pink and blue hues; looking at them calm me. And, a bird landed on your head? That’s got to be a first?! I’ve always wondered what I would do if that ever happened to me.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

