Share Your World – 2016 Week 5

Cee has challenged us one more time, in this 5th week of the year 2016, to share a little more of our worlds.

1. If you had a shelf for your three most special possessions (not including photos, electronic devices and things stored on them, people or animals), what would you put on it? I don’t know – you’ve eliminated my most important possessions/parts of my life. I’m not entirely certain I have three other things that matter that much. I have a few things that have been given me by people I care about, but the people are more important than those items. I guess I could get practical here but I don’t think that’s the intent of this question. I have to just say, then, that what matters the most to me are the people and animals in my life and my photos, which are stored on my electronic devices. My shelf would apparently remain empty.

2. If you had a box labelled ‘happiness’, what would you put in it? My photo albums because I don’t know how else I could put my memories of happy times and the people and animals that make me happy in a box, nor do I know how I could put the sunrises and sunsets that make me happy in a box. Or the sound and sight of ocean waves, sandy beaches, sunny skies, the birds and squirrels outside my window, flowers that bloom and scent the summer air, new green growth in the spring, and bright colors in the fall. “These are a few of my favorite (and happy) things”.

3. What do you want more of in your life? Okay, Material Girl time here. I would like more travel in my life, which would require more money. So if I could just get my money tree to bloom. . .

Daily Life List: What do you do on an average day? Make a list of your usual activities you do each day. Is this where I confess to doing very little in my days? My usual activities depend, of course, on the time of the year. So I’ll have to make a list for winter, with modifications for nice weather seasons following.
Winter:
1. Get up when Shasta says it’s time – she nuzzles me, then lays on her side so I can rub her chest and belly, after which I get her puppy kisses and we get out of bed.
2. Let the big furry girls out and fix breakfast for them and the little furry girl.
3. Make my first cup of coffee and open blinds so I can see outside.
4. Check email, blog comments, and Facebook while I have my first cup of coffee.
5. Make my second cup of coffee and answer emails.
6. Clean up last night’s dishes, if I didn’t do it last night, and decide what else I’m going to do, which includes shoveling the back porch if it has snowed.
7. Maybe throw a load of laundry into the machine, or vacuum, or dust, or work on a jigsaw puzzle or play iPad games for awhile.
8. Read my mail when it comes, take care of paperwork/finances that require attention.
9. Lunchtime – usually it’s a toasted turkey sandwich with mayo, fresh spinach and sliced tomatoes, followed by a little bit of something sweet, with water on the side.
10. Read for awhile, which leads to:
11. A nap, until Shasta says it’s time to be awake and go outside.
12. A short Bailey walk, because her old joints won’t take her too far. Shasta and I may take a little longer walk after Bailey goes in. Maybe visit a neighbor.
13. Check email/Facebook/blog comments again.
14. Have dinner after the furry girls have all had their dinners.
15. Watch TV, read, color, knit – whatever mood strikes me.

In the summer the list varies with time spent outside doing yard work, a lot less time on the iPad, quiet time with a beer or wine on the deck in the late afternoon, early evening.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for the same things I am always grateful: quiet time at home with my furry girls, time spent with friends, email conversations with my kids, control over the remote God so the TV displays only the programs I want to see. I am looking forward to more of the same – and spring starting tomorrow morning because the groundhogs said we’d have an early spring.

That’s all folks!

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Share Your World – 2016 Week 5

  1. Carol — travel, Travel, TRAVEL. Me too siSTAR!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    i’m suspecting we will have an early spring too. At least we got rain (and lots of it) this year. Your day sounds heavenly Carol. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. leendadll says:

    i’d put stuff on the shelf but i wouldn’t seek it out in a fire… that list is Cats… Computer if there’s time. I know lots of people tear up over lost photos but I don’t tend to look at my print-only photos so I think I’d be okay with losing them.

    sending virtual fertilizer for your money tree

    i forgot that before I resent waking up each day, I wake up to let AdamCat outside (so long as it’s light out; if it’s still dark i tell him to go back to bed). And I usually check all water & food bowls, refilling as necessary. I lose 2-3 hours per day to commuting… I wish there was a train, or even bus, route but NOPE.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s always fun to read your responses to Cee’s questions. I haven’t done them for such a long time, well over 2 years, I think. Maybe it’s something I should start doing again.

    Your winter days sound much like mine. I haven’t even been leaving the house on many days, except the days I can get outside for my 3-mile walk.

    Having money grow on the money tree would be great. You know I have wanderlust too, and without my own money, I can’t go! I can go with Mike, but he gets so little time off that I need money of my own to venture forth on solo trips!

    I really hope spring is right around the corner. I’m so ready for it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Robin says:

    I love your answers, Carol. I think I’d end up with an empty shelf too. I do hope spring comes for you soon. All the groundhogs agree on the matter. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. pattisj says:

    I was happy with the groundhog’s news, too!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

