I’m Going on a Diet

I’m going on a diet. I’ll only allow sunshine thoughts, no more rain. The media has been feeding us massive amounts of dreary news, repeating frequently. I have considered boycotting the news, yet I have a need to know – which leads to feeling like we are surely on the road to destruction. But it is the holiday season, with so many different cultures celebrating holidays this month and I want to bliss out on holiday moods and thoughts. I have this need. So this post is to focus on the good, and how better to do that than to intersperse the words with pictures of Christmas decorations on and under my tree. Here goes folks, wish me luck!
P1050269

In just barely over a week my Kat will be here, flying in to spend the holidays at home. About Gep, we do not know. He is making some life changes, which require a lot of preparation and time and may interfere with his being here for the holidays. I am grateful for whatever time I get with those two, be it both or one at a time. This makes me happy.
P1050275
This ornament has been with me for a very long time. There are only a couple of them left – they seem to become more fragile with each passing year. My life has included enough changes and moves that I have a lot of things that are with me only in memory, so these little treasures give me a good deal of pleasure. I remember well the Christmases I bought some of these ornaments.

I am grateful that our neighborhood is once again whole – those who traveled for the Thanksgiving holiday have returned to their nests, completing the circle. We will be able to enjoy Christmas together.
P1050277

We are in the neutral tones season now – the snow that had fallen all melted off, leaving browns and grays. Rains and winds followed the snow and although there is more in the forecast for the following ten days, I am hoping it will not inhibit travel over the mountains on the day I need to pick Kat up from the airport. Once we are safely home, snow will be fine – until time to go back to the airport New Year’s Eve day. I don’t want a lot, you know. Just weather my way. My way on the highway.
P1050280

I sit here, at the computer, surrounded by my furry girls. They are, most often, in the room I am in. What more could one want than that kind of devotion? Topped by the fact that they listen when I talk and they do not argue with my opinions. They allow me my feelings, my ideas, my thoughts, whether they are misguided or not.
P1050284

There is a sun in the sky out there – it is currently hiding behind the clouds and will undoubtedly continue to do so for a few days, but I know it is still there. It is said that we have 300 days of sunshine every year – or is it 280? In any case, the non-sunny days seem to all fall together in this winter season. About the time I think I am going to explode if I don’t see some sunshine, it appears again. It may not stay long, but it gives me hope.
P1050293

I found the sugar pine cones in the photo above in a bag in my garage – they’ve been there long enough they’re starting to fall apart, but they still have another year or so left I think. The flash gave them rather an odd look – as if they’ve been painted or are not quite real. They were picked up in our mountains by a friend several years ago. They remind of of our early days here, when it was so exciting to go out and cut a real tree for our living rooms. Those days of being younger and having more energy.
P1050295

I have music playing in the background. Music is happy. Music is peaceful. Music drowns out the news.

I wish you all enough – happy thoughts, good things in life, the joy of the season. This year, as in the past couple of years, my household will be giving hugs, not material gifts. So for each of you, here’s a hug ( ).

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I’m Going on a Diet

  1. loisajay says:

    Hugs back to you, Carol!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lisa says:

    That’s a diet I can follow too! I have a few sentimental ornaments as well that bring back fond memories. Decorating in shifts this year. Hard to do any sustained activity with an almost-two-year-old underfoot! You have a lovely tree and I’ll take hugs over presents anytime. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Carol — Out of the myriad of diets out there, your diet—CAROL’S SUNSHINE THOUGHTS—is by far the best one. And it’s guaranteed to lighten the life of anyone who goes on it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jay53 says:

    That’s I diet I should be one, for sure. I am feeling quite depressed these days about the world and much that is in it. I shall try to focus on the good, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Heather says:

    Thanks for the hugs Carol; back atcha! And you’re on the right track with the news. While we were in Atlanta we were bombarded with it – seems like every TV and radio was stationed on 24-hour news, and turned up so that we could hear the talking heads shout. I am a news reader, and while it’s the same news, it’s less vociferous that way.
    I enjoyed sharing some of the memories around your Christmas decorations. Sometimes I feel like I hoard memories as things, but you remind me why there are some “things” that are more than what they appear. Happy Holidays my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Robin says:

    Thank you for the hugs, Carol. Hugs back. Sometimes I wonder if the world would be a better place if we all took a vacation from the news. Your tree and ornaments are all lovely. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Dawn says:

    Thanks for the hugs Carol, and the photos of Christmas ornaments. I didn’t put up our tree, again this year. And I sort of miss looking at some of the older ornaments…but not so much that I want to lug the tree up from the basement. Plus it looks like I’ll be out of town for Christmas so I guess I will wait till next year to decorate the tree. I try only to watch one cycle of the news. Husband is a CNN junkie so he will watch it over and over. I can’t do that. Once to find out what happened…and then I’m done. I used to like listening to news radio on my commute home so that by the time I made it into the house after an hour on the road I knew as much as he did about what was going on in the world, and I didn’t have to turn the TV on at all. Used to make him mad. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks for the hug, Carol. And sending one back to you. I xan totally relate to how much you anticipate the holiday with your kids. I am counting the days until my daughter returns from France. It does get harder as kids get older and have their own commitments. Hopefully Gep finds a way to come home, too. Keep thinking positive thoughts. We can’t succomb to the despair that seems to be in the news. I, too, plan to tune them out. Best wishes.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. LG says:

    We could do with a lot of sunshine on this side of the world as well.
    Hugs to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Joanne says:

    Aww, sending hugs to you also, Carol. What a beautiful post this is, full of hugs, love and happy thoughts. Forget the news, you can’t change people and knowing what is happening doesn’t help anyone either. Sometimes you just have to take a step back, and pray for peace.

    I’m so glad the diet you are on didn’t relate to food, I wondered what you were thinking, with Christmas so close, when I read the title!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Cee Neuner says:

    We started boycotting the news nearly 20 years ago in our house. I figure all I need to know I’ll see on the blogs and Chris from time to time will review headlines. Happy season to you. 😀

    Like

  12. pattisj says:

    Music is a treasured gift.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

