Sunday Coffee – October 4

I’m so happy you’ve stopped by – I always enjoy our visits. Would you like a cup of coffee – I have regular and decaf, as well as a couple of flavored coffees – or tea? I have half a dozen flavors of herbal teas. Oh yes, I also have hot spiced cider and hot chocolate, if you’d prefer. If you’re hungry, even just a little bit, I’d be happy to give you some of the creamed cheese stuffed pumpkin spice pull apart I baked yesterday, which is sticky gooey yummy.
20151003_110757

We had wind yesterday so the annual onslaught of pine needles has begun. The trees do like to shed those needles in the fall and winter – they are big on sharing and when it’s not pine needles, it’s pine cones or pollen pods or bits of dead branches. Sometimes I have trouble being thankful for the good they provide – homes for the birds and the squirrels, shade for all of us – and they are beautiful. But, oh, far too generous with their produce.
20151004_091821

This means that today I will get out the blower and rake and dispatch the needles from the decks and garage apron, and maybe start raking up some of the needles in the paths and gravel areas. Then I will arm myself with the fishing net and scoop needles out of the pond. I have probably said this before, but I’ll say it again – do not construct a pond beneath pine trees. Or any trees, for that matter. Those needles on the grassy areas will be subject to the blades of the lawn tractor next time I mow. I will show no mercy.

For those of you on the east coast, I hope the wrath of Joaquin has not taken too large a toll on you and yours. I am grateful he has headed out to sea and hope that he loses some of his power before he hits land again. I read this morning that he is only 1 mph below reaching Cat 5. I hope your lives have not thrown too many bumps in your paths, and the joys have outweighed any problems. We all have periods of far too many speed bumps, but isn’t it such a relief when we have finally gotten over them?

Life in my world is pretty normal. I have spent far too much time in my chair in the morning room, reading, playing silly games, looking out my window – finding myself somewhat mesmerized by little things, like the tails of the squirrels.
P1050125
Silly, I know, but when the light hits just right it emphasizes the individual hairs and the gradation of the colors on the tails. The details in this world are just incredible, I think – and I am grateful to have time to notice them.

The Virginia Creeper (or is it Boston Ivy? I’m not certain) climbing up the tree down by the shop has taken on the brilliance of fall. Happy colors. This time of year is one of my favorites. Spring brings to me the joy of awakenings, warmth after the too-long winter (no matter how long it really is), new growth. Fall brings the promise of time to rest, to pull inward and enjoy the time to meditate, to read, to invest time in hobbies – or to do nothing at all. I tend to wind down too quickly though, and leave too much of the yard work that needs to be tended to for spring. But in spring, I have more enthusiasm for it. How about you?
P1050117

I have made a half-hearted attempt to create a fall display outside my door – I have the thought that perhaps, next trip to the bigger town, I will pick up a scarecrow or some such fall feature to add to this pot. Do you do much decorating for the seasons, the holidays? So far, this attempt is the best I have to offer.
P1050121

I need to change my larger flag for fall – it is still the late summer frog flag. I don’t think I have a real fall flag for the little garden post, but since it’s time for the wine growers to be gathering their fruit to make wine for those of us who enjoy a glass or so in the evenings, this seems quite appropriate, don’t you think? I do need to see what I actually have though, since I inherited some flags from The Artistic One when she moved, one year ago. I miss her and our outings.
P1050120

Oh my, I do tend to go on and on, don’t I? Please, tell me how you’re feeling, what you’ve been doing, and what’s going on in your life? Are their happy bubbles in your world? I hope so. I wish you could stay awhile longer, but I look forward to when we can get together again. Until we meet again, I wish you enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sunday Coffee – October 4

  1. MLou says:

    I loved the photo of the squirrels tail…what an interesting point of view….LOL They are so fun to watch. Hugs and Happy Sunday

    Liked by 1 person

  2. loisajay says:

    This was such a fun visit, and the squirrel tail–adorable!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Karma says:

    Thanks for the coffee! Hmm, or maybe hot cider this time – that is a favorite of mine. And the pull apart looks fabulous. The squirrel tail is pretty cool lit up by that light. I must admit that as much as I love summer, the light this time of year is quite beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Creamed cheese stuffed pumpkin spice pull apart bread? Oh my goodness, YES please!

    Like

  5. pattisj says:

    I enjoyed sitting with you–and salivating over that beautiful pull-apart while waiting for a cup of tea. A previous neighbor planted two pine trees between our houses, the last neighbors had them removed. I miss the birds that are attracted by pines, but not the needles and pinecones underfoot. We have a nor’easter wreaking havoc on the beaches, so we’re glad Joaquin is moving further away from the coast. I saw the Carolina’s experience on Facebook and the Weather Channel and hope everyone is OK. I can’t imagine the clean-up after all that flooding. I enjoy finding the little details of nature, too. The red leaves are pretty. I don’t really decorate for the seasons, aside from a wreath on the door. Only for Christmas do I do a little more. Thanks for inviting me over. See you soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. dawnkinster says:

    Need that recipe! I think that’s Virginia creeper.

    Like

  7. Oh my! That pumpkin spice pull apart looks totally decadent, but if you don’t mind sharing I would love a piece. The photo of the squirrels tail is very flashy! But almost too close to the memory of my dog being sprayed by a skunk. It has been 2 months and she stll has hints of the aroma. Thankfully, Joaquin has missed us here. It was a beautiful sunny day so we got out for a gogeous walk along a creek that was still running high. I mowed the lawn, pulled some weeds and picked another pint of raspberries from my patch. Maybe a cobbler will be in the works for dessert- although I might have to wait until tomorrow since I just enjoyed your delicious treat!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lisa says:

    Skip the coffee and just let me go straight to the gooey, yummy morning dessert! It looks heavenly. I wish I could take a bit of time to just site and “be”….morning, afternoon…it wouldn’t matter. Since Tanner’s passing, I find myself staring off into space a lot. Maybe my mind is trying to see him in some of the details outside. There is so much I need to do outside for fall clean up. And there are bulbs to plant. Oh my….I better pull it together soon and be more productive before the snow flies.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

