Won’t You Join Me?

I have been having Saturday morning coffee with Robin of Breezes at Dawn lately, and have found I really enjoy it, so I thought perhaps it was my time to invite you to my house for a cuppa something this morning. I am offering coffee, regular or decaf, flavored or not, or an herbal tea, because it is still morning. Perhaps one evening we’ll share a stronger beverage, like I’ve shared with Cathy at Nomad Interrupted on a few Sunday evenings.

I spend most of my morning coffee times in my morning room, and I think that might be the most comfortable place for us to sit just now. Although it’s lovely, it’s still chilly outside. I love to watch the antics of the birds, chipmunks and squirrels in my bird tree and on the ground around it. There’s a family of Spotted Towhees living in the shrubs on the morning room slope – I’ve seen a couple of adults and two or three juveniles that are only just beginning to get their color.

Dad Towhee

Dad Towhee

It’s been a quiet week, as most of them are. I managed to get the rain gutters cleaned out yesterday – there are pine needles on the roof that need to come down, but I do not like being on a ladder, and getting on the roof is even worse so that will wait until someone unsuspecting shows up that can stand duty by the ladder as I go up. Today I need to begin the months-long chore of raking pine needles. The theory is that if I start in the fall, the spring work will be less. That’s the theory. Does anyone know where I might be able to get a yard work robot? I can provide comfortable housing for it.

How has your week been? Just think, next Wednesday and it will officially be fall, although the leaves are falling from some of my trees already. What is your fall like? The months are flying by and I am not keeping up, how are you doing?

Awhile back I ordered three daylily plants, which arrived yesterday. Now to decide where to plant them – one will go where I had originally planned, but the others are taller varieties (I think I was paying more attention to color than size when I ordered) and will need to find other homes. It is not as if I don’t have sufficient choices, so after the rake, shovel here I come!

There are other birds coming to visit, and most of them I am familiar with, but this little guy is eluding a proper identification. He has that yellowish/olive crown which doesn’t seem to go along with the tan breast, shape of the beak and striped wings – at least according to my Waite’s Birds app. Before I took the picture, I did not see the crown color and thought he might be a clay-colored sparrow despite the fact that they are not common to my area, but now I’m completely befuddled. Do you have any idea what he is?
P1050039
P1050038

Oh my! Could you excuse me for just a moment, please? Thank you for your patience – I heard Twiggy growling, which usually means she is delivering a gift – usually a gift I really would rather not have. Uh huh, she was. She had a chipmunk in mouth, not good! I managed to catch her and head towards the door, but about three feet away from it, she dropped the little guy. He ran – I’m not sure where. Twiggy is now in time out, the door is open and I’m hoping he finds his way outside to safety. Soon, because this cat gets very vocal when she is not happy. I am being serenaded. Loudly.

I’ve also had Sammy Squirrel visiting quite often. I do not know if Sammy is male or female, but the name works for either, I think. Sammy doesn’t really visit me, but he is learning to tolerate my movements on the inside of that window as he goes through all the contortions it seems to take to wrest a sunflower seed, or two or more, from the feeder. I wish I could be so flexible.
P1050013
P1050001
P1050028

I’m sorry, did you say you really must go now? I am so glad you were able to join me and hope we can do this again sometime soon. As you said, there are things I need to attend to and if I don’t get them done before lunch, they probably will not get done. I tend to think a nap is required after lunch and a nap makes me feel any work I planned to do doesn’t need to be done after all. Does anyone know of any little housework elves that would like to join the yard work robot in my home? A cooking elf would also be good. And while we’re at it, how about a magic carpet that would take me anywhere I want to go, since my normal chores will be taken care of.

While you work on those things, make your day a day filled with enough!

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Won’t You Join Me?

  1. lakeafton says:

    Just regular black coffee for me, please.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Carol — Oh what a joy-filled visit! And thank you for the delicious tea. I always enjoy looking through your windows to see what creatures—great and small—are visiting you and yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Karma says:

    Thanks for the coffee! I love the view from your morning room. I tried doing some ID work on your mystery bird, certain that it must be some type of sparrow, but that yellow crown is really throwing me off!

    Like

    • Carol says:

      I went through Waites Birds again, and believe it’s a yellow-crowned sparrow. What throws me is they describe the breast as gray, whereas I’d say tan or buff, and as an adult the crown will have black on either side of the yellow. Stokes calls it a golden-crowned sparrow. I think this one is a juvenile whose coloring has not yet developed.

      Like

  4. Hi Carol, and thanks for the invitation for coffee! I’ll have the regular coffee, black, as I usually drink it. I think your ideas to have a yardwork robot, and some cleaning and cooking elves, as well as a magic carpet, sound wonderful. You certainly have a lot of visitors at your house, including the accidental chipmunk visitor, who I hope made it out of the house safely! I don’t envy your pine needle raking, but as long as the weather is nice, it could be quite pleasant and meditative. I am so enjoying the cooler evenings of fall, although it’s been quite warm here in the days still. At least most of the humidity has disappeared from the air. Starting today, we’ll be having highs in the 70s, and that should continue for at least the next 10 days! Hooray! I love those temperatures!

    As for me, I’ve been busy finishing up the preparation for my CELTA course that begins tomorrow in Washington, just in time for the Pope’s visit! I’ve already been dreading that long commute and taking metro, and now it should be super busy and overwhelming with everyone coming into town to see the Pope and many bus routes and roads being closed for parades and official visits, etc. My class is from 9-5 every weekday for a month, until October 16, with 2-3 hours of homework each night and an over 1-1 1/2 hour commute each way. I’ll basically have no life during that time.

    I have done some interesting things this week, besides my boring preparation for the class. I saw two movies: “Learning to Drive” and “Grandma,” both of which I enjoyed. I’ve always loved Patricia Clarkson ever since I saw her in “Cairo Time,” and Lily Tomlin was quite feisty and funny. Mike and I also went downtown to the Woolly Mammoth Theater to see a cutting-edge play called “Women Laughing Alone with Salad” that was sad, hilarious, and quite risque! It gave us quite a lot of food for thought about how we, as women, are programmed by society to “eat salad” and do other things to attain that ideal body. It was quite thought-provoking. We also had some tapas and wine at my favorite tapas spot in D.C., Jaleo. On Wednesday night, Mike and I also met some old friends for dinner at Seasons 52 at Tyson’s and had a lovely time. Other than that I’ve been walking and doing zumba and generally trying to eat healthy.

    I also finished a good book, “A Tale for the Time Being,” by Ruth Ozeki. I really enjoyed it, and as always, once I finish a book, I still want to linger in that world for a while.

    Thanks so much for the invitation for coffee. It was wonderful to visit and to watch the antics of your wildlife visitors. Hope you enjoy the next four weeks as it may be possible I won’t have much time for visiting during that time, sadly. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. loisajay says:

    I am so pleased you saved me the last little bit of coffee–it was delicious, by the way. The antics of Sammy were so well worth it. Have a great Sunday, Carol!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Carol. Thanks for the offer. I will take a cup of regular with a splash of half and half. I love the pictures of Sammy Squirrels antics! I too battle the squirrels versus birds on the feeder. I think if they are clever enough to find a way in, they deserve it. Sorry Twiggy brought you an unwanted present. At least it was not a skunk encounter, like my dog had. It has been almost 2 months and still a hint is present. I agree that the unknown bird is some type of sparrow, but i do not recognize the variety. Thanks for the lovely coffee break. I will definitely stop by next time.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. leendadll says:

    i’m sorry but i have dibs on the housecleaning fairies.
    i’d like a cup of coffee with some manner of flavored cream – or cream & a shot of syrup.
    it’s been a hundred million degrees here again. fire season is upon us but typically gets worse in october (which i only remember because of halloween costumes themed around the fires). i missed summer… just missed the whole thing. mostly because it was too hot to move.
    Boo serenades when unhappy too – and she’s pretty much permanently unhappy

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Robin says:

    Thank you for the coffee, Carol, and for the mention. I’m so glad you decided to join the weekend coffee share. I apologize for being so late. I’ve been busy with party preparations this week. The party is tomorrow and I think I’m about ready for it. I’m a little nervous because I won’t know anyone except for my husband. It’s a get-together for some of his work colleagues and students. Hopefully we’ll have a few more so I will have a chance to get to know some folks.

    The weather is gorgeous here today. Very fall like. It will be hot and humid again tomorrow. That’s unfortunate, but at least it will be breezy which means we can carry on as planned and party on the deck and porch.

    We have some household fairies and elves, but they’re mischievous and more likely to produce work rather than do it. I am pretty sure they are responsible for missing or misplaced items.

    Your bird reminds me of our white-throated sparrows. The markings are different, though, and I don’t think they visit your area of the country. The white-throated sparrows are probably related to the golden crowned in some way.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lisa says:

    I’d join you anytime. Could your unidentified feathered friend be a Peewee, Elaenia Flycatchers or a Vireo?

    Like

    • Carol says:

      I finally decided he’s a golden crowned sparrow. At first the description threw me off because it referred to his breast as gray, but I think this one is a juvenile.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

