Share Your World – 2015 Week 34

Another week, another challenge from Cee. Time for my muse to wake up and get back in the rhythm of things!

1. Was school easy or difficult for you? How so? For the most part, school was easy, despite the fact that we moved frequently – some years I only attended 4 schools and some years as many as 8 – my father was an asbestos worker and we had to go where the work was. The biggest problem I had was “fitting in”; I was shy, and tall for my age, but ultimately it worked out. Until I hit algebra – then it was impossible. I simply do not think that way and I struggled through ending up with a final grade of C. The lowest grade I got in any subject, ever.

2. What is your favorite animal? Oh gosh. Domestic animals – probably dog, followed by cat. African wild animals – giraffe? They are so very graceful and exotic looking. More common wild animals – maybe deer, with their long legs and big brown eyes. There are so many beautiful animals that it’s hard to choose.

3. If you had to have your vision corrected would you rather: glasses or contacts? I do have to have my vision corrected and for a few years I had contacts, although they did not work as well for me as glasses because I have astigmatism. I hated glasses resting on the bridge of my nose, so I wore the contacts, but they really were a pain in the neck with the cleaning process and at night I had to remove them to drive because lights just smeared so badly. Now I wear glasses whenever I really want to see – which is all day, every day.

4. List: Name at least five television shows (past or present) you enjoyed?
Hill Street Blues
The West Wing
American Idol
Nashville
Downton Abbey
Last Tango in Halifax

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?
I am grateful The Gracious One came through her surgery with no problems. She fell and shattered her elbow – the doctor said it was the worst he’d seen with 21 bits of bones scattered about, which made it necessary to insert a small plate and some screws. Someone told her she’s “all screwed up”.
I am looking forward to a quiet week, hoping the wildfires become controlled and the smoke in the air diminishes.

Just a few random photos this week; first, through my window, furry and feathered friends enjoying the dried cranberries and grapes I’d tossed out.
P1040880

A water lily in the pond
P1040862

And Lily taking her turn at the fountain
P1040720

I wish you a week filled with enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Share Your World – 2015 Week 34

  1. Heather says:

    I can’t imagine how you look back on your time in school and remember it as easy. You must be graceful – you certainly seem to have come through it okay. But you probably also didn’t have to endure state testing? I think education is much more stressful now for kids who have to move. I always struggled to help my “new” kids get caught up.
    I wear glasses, too, but not all the time. I tried contacts. We didn’t get along.

    Like

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    I’ve got real bad astigmatism too so contacts are out for me no matter what. I forgot about Hill Street Blues….That was a great show and so was Westwing. Thanks Carol.

    Like

  3. Carol β€” I feel the same way about algebra. That’s a gorgeous photograph of Lily enjoying the water fountain.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Robin says:

    I couldn’t wrap my brain around algebra either. I’m glad I’m in such good company. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Joanne says:

    Algebra was my worst nightmare at school too! If your mind isn’t constructed to understand the gibberish, it just doesn’t get through.

    I’m sorry to hear of The Gracious One’s operation, but pleased to hear she has pulled through it okay. I also hope she regains full use of her arm after it heals, it sounds rather a serious operation.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lisa says:

    Lovely photos to accompany your answers (as always). School was fairly easy for me….I memorize well. I love horses and think they are magnificent creatures although every animal has it’s own beauty. Contacts…..unless my eyes are too tired. I watched all those shows and am very sad Downton is coming to a close. 😦 Terrible news about the Gracious One…hope she mends quickly. That’s awfully dangerous regardless of a person’s age.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Karma says:

    Love the kitty on the fountain shot πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. leendadll says:

    “only” 4 a year. I can’t imagine. I changed schools once and was forever bothered by it.
    Love the pics!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

