Our Portland Adventure Begins

Last week, Gep, Kat and I drove to Portland so we could attend this year’s Craft Beer Fest – something that is becoming an annual tradition for us. We stopped in a little town at about the halfway mark for lunch at a little barbecue place with outside tables. Across the parking lot from our table was a building with a bright yellow wall facing us – that wall drew Gep’s eye and seemed a perfect place to take a photo of Kat in her brightly-colored clothing. This seemed to me a perfect opportunity to capture the photographer capturing his model
P1040779

and an outside wall decoration across the street – I loved the contrast and the shadow.
P1040780

We arrived early evening, checked in at our motel, parked the car and unloaded our suitcases, then headed to the nearest MAX station to take the train downtown. An easy ride, with lots of fun people-watching. As we got to town, evening light was enhancing the glassy exteriors of some of the city buildings, giving a peachy glow to this one.
P1040794

I wondered if this is where they experiment on puppets?
P1040795

We decided we wanted to have dinner at a pub – after all, we were here for a beer fest, weren’t we? We wandered until we found one that looked like a good place to go and was rated highly – Kell’s Pub.
20150721_195518

Gep and Kat, always looking for whimsy and a chance to play, stopped to pose as we approached the entrance.
P1040783

Inside the pub, this was as close to a real smile as Gep would give me. Why is it men so often feel they shouldn’t smile when their picture is being taken?
P1040786

A delicious beer to start the meal while we waited for our orders to arrive.
20150721_200354

20150721_210322

Apparently I was too hungry to take a picture of our food before we devoured it, but I did take a picture of the yummy Irish Coffee that followed the meal.
P1040791

We sat and talked, enjoyed our beverages and the atmosphere, and when the skies had darkened and night had fallen, meandered back to the MAX station to head for home. At the station, I noted that someone had left a snack – I guess in case the wait was long and the stomach was empty. Ours were not, and there was no cream cheese – a bagel is, after all, only meant as a vehicle for cream cheese!
P1040793

We arrived at our temporary home, watched a little TV and slept soundly until morning.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Our Portland Adventure Begins

  1. Robin says:

    Puppet lab…lol! Looks like a fun outing! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lakeafton says:

    I love your adventures. Kat, what a great outfit!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lynne Ayers says:

    Enjoy your time, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. suzicate says:

    This sounds like a fabulous tradition to me!
    I do love me a good stout! Or an IPA!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Joanne says:

    I always love to hear of your visits and travels with Gep and Kat, you three seem so close. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It sounds like your vacation is off to a great start. Enjoy your family!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Karma says:

    I always enjoy reading about your adventures šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Carol ā€” I love that you let your readers tag along virtually on your adventures!

    Like

  9. Kathy says:

    Looks like you had great time, Carol. We were so very close…but still too far away to meet…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Lisa says:

    Sounds like a fantastic trip! Love the FB shots you’ve posted as well. What a wonderful way to spend time with those (grown up?) kids of yours! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  11. leendadll says:

    Fun pics. I think that’s a nice subtle smile. and Puppet Labs makes IT System Admin software (I googled it)

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Hi Carol!
    This had me smiling all the way through! At the playfulness of your kids, at your amusing take on each photo, most of all the obvious enjoyment of your family for each other. I am so glad you are out having fun together.
    I heard from the Petersons that they are having blistering heat down at Train Mountain–I’ve been out of the Northwest for nearly a month–and it was hot when I left, hot where I went, and hot when I came back. Things are much more comfortable here now–I hope you are staying cool and comfy!
    Best wishes to you and the family,
    Naomi

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      Thank you, Naomi. We have had more heat than I like this year, but thankfully are a little cooler for a few days. Now the biggest problem is the smoke in the air from the fires to the southwest of us.

      Liked by 1 person

      • HI Carol,
        I have heard that there are a lot of fires raging right now, after such a hot dry summer. I’m sure it’s affecting the air quality. Do take care.

        Like

  13. Heather says:

    Gep actually looks like he’s grinning. It’s just short of a miracle if Tony doesn’t look like he’s grimacing.
    And yes to the bagel/cream cheese. Preferably blueberries too.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

