Share Your World – 2015 Week 28

Cee has posed the questions for this week’s sharing time. There’s a couple there that I think are going to give me some trouble, but let’s see what I can come up with.

1. What is your favorite comfort snack food? My favorite comfort snack food changes. Frequently. Chocolate is always a good go-to, but when I’m reading or watching TV in the evening and feel the need to nibble, what I want varies. For awhile, it was red licorice sticks. Then apple and cheese. This week it’s been tortilla chips with a sour cream/salsa verde mixture. For quite awhile, it was popcorn with sea salt and coconut oil. Sometimes grapes or cherries, cut-up melon, nasty salty greasy potato chips – like so many things, it just depends on what my cravings decide to call for today, too often something I don’t have.

2. If you had to spend one weekend alone in a single store but could remove nothing, which store would you pick? (except food or beverage) I think Ikea. I could spend hours wandering through, looking at what they’re offering now. And they would have comfortable furniture on which I could sit and read, play on the internet – did I mention the store would have to have wifi? – and nap. Besides, they have a little cafe usually, don’t they? Would food I consumed while in the store count as removing something? It would still be in the store, technically – just in a different place and different form. Oh but wait – you said “except food or beverage”, so I guess I was worrying for nothing.

3. What was the largest city you have been to? What is the one thing you remember most? Can you wait just a moment, please? I need to go speak with Google. Okay, ready now. According to what Google found for me, the largest city I have ever been in was Seoul, Korea. Followed by (in order of size) New York City, Beijing, London, Los Angeles and Chicago. What I remember the most about Seoul was the different shopping areas and the Bibimbap, which I loved. About New York City – the embarrassment when visiting book stores there asking for a book called “The Art of Loving” by – ? Eric someone, I think. It was a “self-help” type book, but that was not the way many of the book store people took it, which was made obvious by their comments. About Beijing, the crazy place where items I view as not really edible were offered for purchase to be consumed, all on sticks. London – how none of the little shops in the underground seemed to have the kind of change I needed to ride the subway, which is called something else in London, but now escapes me. In Los Angeles, the manic traffic, the theaters where I saw some excellent plays. In Chicago, a night spent in Union Station awaiting transfer to another train station which would not happen until morning – it was very spooky.

Finish this sentence: It has recently come to my attention that …. I need to get myself up and moving about more than I have been of late. I spend far too much time thinking about what I should be doing and not enough time doing it.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for the rainy days, the books I’ve been reading, friends to share some time with, my furry girls so I have someone to talk to besides myself in the quiet evenings. Are furry girls “someones”? I think so. It’s called furry girl therapy. I’m looking forward to my kids arriving for a couple of weeks – Kat arrives on Saturday night, Gep the following Monday.

This week’s photos are all about birds – such a surprise, I know! This fluffy little guy appeared at the feeder one morning – please try to ignore the reflections on the glass of the window. I think he’s a very young finch.
2resized orig
1resized orig

The pair of white-headed woodpeckers that have been frequenting the nectar feeders.
3resized orig

And, for this tree swallow, time to fly away.
4resized orig

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Share Your World – 2015 Week 28

  1. jay53 says:

    What an intriguing question .. which store would I choose to spend a weekend in! Well, I don’t know! Maybe Harrods … whenever I go, it’s always horribly crowded and there’s never enough time to look at everything! I presume the elevators and escalators would still be working? I could take zillions of photos (I suppose that’s allowed?), try lots of things on, read, lounge on the furniture, sleep on the beds … yeah, that might work!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ghostmmnc says:

    You’ve been to interesting places! We used to travel a lot, being a military family, so I feel lucky to have seen other parts of the world. Love your bird pictures! I have a feeder in the back yard…we get finches, sparrows, and lots of doves, grackles, and an occasional blue jay!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Carol β€” I’d be there, right with you, in IKEA!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mama Cormier says:

    I had to go to Google as well to check on the populations of different cities before I could answer that question. I learned a lot thought. I had no idea how big some of those places were.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Cee’s Challenge: Week 28 | Thistles and Kiwis

  6. loisajay says:

    Your responses to these questions do make me laugh! I have never been to IKEA–we don’t have one anywhere near me. dammit.

    Like

  7. Cee Neuner says:

    As I was reading your Ikea answer, I kept say, yes you can eat the food. And it is our own fantasy so there would be wifi for sure. πŸ˜€ I just figure that is a given πŸ˜€

    Like

  8. Dawn says:

    I was thinking WalMart but Ikea is so much classier.

    I wonder…is Rome bigger or smaller than NYC? I will have to go look that up.

    Like

  9. Joanne says:

    Oh yes Carol, furry girls are definitely β€œsomeones”, and so are birds. They all keep me company when I’m gardening, and my own furry girl, Miss Tibbs, and her big brother Sammy (my daughter’s cat who I am cat-sitting at the moment) are great company indoors too. I always love seeing your bird friends and the little fluffy finch is so cute. πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. Robin says:

    The Underground or Tube (subway in London). I always enjoy your answers to Cee’s question. IKEA would be a fab place to spend the night. It’s like a maze, and maybe I could work it all out by the end of the weekend. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  11. leendadll says:

    I totally agree about the snacks – I always crave something that I don’t have in the house!

    Like

  12. Lisa says:

    Chocolate and Cheetos. And entirely too much of both lately. 😦 That’s what happens when I start stress eating.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

