Share Your World – 2015 Week 25

Since it’s almost time for Week 26, I thought I’d better sit down long enough to take care of Cee’s Week 25 of sharing. I’ve been volunteering at the Train Mountain office a few hours a day during their Triennial Meet (with over 1000 people and 370 one-eighth scale trains in attendance) and there’s something about leaving the house that makes me feel I need to do nothing when I return. What is that, anyway? So today, before I leave, here goes.

1. What did you or did not like about the first apartment you ever rented? I was so excited to have my own apartment I thought it was pure heaven. I have only vague memories of it now – it was a small basement apartment.

2. What kind of art is your favorite? Why? Hard question to answer. In photography, I’m really drawn by portraits showing a lot of character, with strong contrast. My son took a lot of photos of the people in Honduras and Africa when he was there, and some of those pictures of little kids with huge, luminous eyes are irresistible. Photographs of nature, landscapes, seascapes, mountainscapes. In paintings – my interest varies. I’ve always been into more realism, but lately I’ve purchased some more abstract prints with strong lines and colors. I guess you could say my favorites are dependent upon the moment and the mood. Kind of the story of my life.

3. How many siblings do you have? What’s your birth order? I am the oldest, with two younger brothers, the oldest of which is nine years younger than I. My youngest brother died several years ago from a blood clot.

4. Complete this sentence: I’m dreaming of a white …. (and no you can’t use Christmas as your answer) I’m dreaming of a white dove with a fairy dressed in white riding on his back, flying around our world sprinkling common sense and love in her fairy dust on all the peoples and the governments of the world. They will be known as the dove and fairy of peace, intelligence and fairness.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for the opportunity to see many of my old friends from the days I worked at Train Mountain and the opportunity to break out of my routine for a little while. I am looking forward to my neighborhood friends returning from their various trips and for the opportunity to get back into my regular routine. I am also looking forward to my new, hopefully undamaged, dishwasher being delivered and installed next week.

Now I’d like to share a few photos of what was blooming in my garden last week, and to wish you all a week filled with enough.
P1040617
P1040619
P1040622
P1040623
P1040624
P1040626

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Share Your World – 2015 Week 25

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Those trains must be marvelous fun. Your photos are wonderful as always Carol. Glad to see you having some fun. 😀

    Like

  2. sheenmeem says:

    Beautiful photos Carol.

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    That’s quite the thing you’re dreaming of! What are they feeding you as you volunteer? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Train Mountain sounds like something I’d like to visit. 🙂

    Like

  5. Dawn says:

    My first apartment. I”m like you (in many ways!)…I was so happy to have a space that was mine, all mine. I didn’t have any furniture and I slept on the floor for almost a year but it was wonderful. I still have a bit of longing for my own space.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. ghostmmnc says:

    Your flowers are beautiful! I love the idea of a white dove and fairy flying around sprinkling peace and love all around! 🙂

    Like

  7. Joanne says:

    Oh, the fairy with the common sense and love dust sounds like a fabulous idea! Love the flowers too. 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

