One Four Challenge – June Week 4 – Girl on the Beach

It’s now week 4 of Robyn’s One Four Challenge. My Girl on The Beach this week is a pastel version:
Pastels
After I opened and cropped the original in Photoshop Elements, I lightened shadows, duplicated that original layer, then applied the paint daubs filter, setting the blend mode to soft light at 66% opacity. I duplicated that paint daubs layer, applied the rough pastels filter on sandstone, and set the blending mode to hard light. I then repeated the last steps (duplicated, rough pastels, etc.) and this version emerged.

To summarize, since this is week 4, following are the original photo as well as each week’s versions:

Original:
P1030411

Week 1:
P1030411_edited-2

Week 2:
Watercolor2

Week 3:
smudge wk 3

and Week 4:
Pastels

Which one do you prefer?

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to One Four Challenge – June Week 4 – Girl on the Beach

  1. suzicate says:

    I love all the exciting alterations that can be made with photos these days!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    I think I like week 1 the best. Gives me a washed out beach feel. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Heather says:

    These are all very interesting treatments, but I think I prefer week 2. It’s such a total transformation that I would believe you had painted it – no photograph involved.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lakeafton says:

    I think I like week 2 best. I like the haziness of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. loisajay says:

    All wonderful but I am going with week 2. Looks like a sandstorm…really pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Carol — And while they’re all terrific, I’m particularly drawn to Week 1.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. kirsten says:

    Great edit this week! Week 2 is my favorite. It has almost a dreamy feel to it!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Robin says:

    Gosh, it’s hard to pick one. I like them all, but week 2 really draws me in. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Robyn G says:

    Hi Carol, its good to see all of your editions together. I hope you’ve really enjoyed the challenge 😃
    Week 4 is my pick for the month. There’s something 3D about it that I really like..and the colour 😃😃

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Dawn says:

    I like week 4 the best. Really cool. I have no idea how to do any of those things you describe! Nice work!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: summer solstice | Michaelwclark.com

  12. Lynne Ayers says:

    Hi Carol. My favourites are weeks 1 and 2 with week 1 edging ahead.

    Like

  13. jay53 says:

    I like week one, the posterised version! I also like week two’s dreamy look.

    I meant to join in with this one, but never settled on a photo to use.

    Like

  14. Joanne says:

    Aren’t you clever! I think I like week 4 the best, it looks like a painting, in fact that’s what I thought it was at first! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

