Do You Hear Them?

Do you hear them? The sounds of buds popping open, bringing bright colors and cheer to our lives?
P1040602

They have been calling me, these sounds of buds popping open. My heart sings along with them, my eyes feast on the beauty.
P1040601

It looks like this year will be a good one for blossoms and greens. We have not had our devastating late frosts, those which normally nip the possibility of my one lone poppy producing bloom. It’s showing promise. The little Johnny Jump-Ups are having a good year too. The Hawthorne tree has filled out beautifully.
P1040600

The shrubs along the top of the slope and in front of the morning room are becoming a little aggressive in their growth. The Snowmound Spirea on the right were to be two to three feet tall – that’s what the tag said. I think the tag lied. They should be trimmed, but I like the Secret Garden feel of them overhanging the path. And they sing such a sweet song as the buds pop open.
P1040599

The Rugosa Roses are happy plants, aren’t they? Happy, but a little devious I think. They entice you to come close, all the while hiding those prickly little thorns. Do approach, but use caution.
P1040598

The morning light shines through the Iris blossom, giving it an almost ethereal feel. Have you noticed that the Iris sing more loudly than many of the other blossoms when they open?
P1040596

More Spirea. Gentle, delicate flowers, spots of light among dark foliage. So many songs are being sung in my gardens.
P1040597

So many colors reflect in my windows. How are your reflections? Are you hearing the songs of your world?
P1040586

Go out today – take time today to just go out, look, listen and breathe deeply.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Do You Hear Them?

  1. loisajay says:

    I have spirea, also! I different kind than yours but overspreading, just the same. I guess I planted mine too close to the front porch. I feel like leaving a machete for my mailman so he can reach my mailbox; I am such a bad pruner but I do need to cut them back. Too pretty to cut back, though!

    Like

  2. Carol — Your photographs are so colorful, vivid, crisp, and clear — breathtaking!

    Like

  3. Robin says:

    Thank you for the lovely, peaceful walk through your garden, Carol. You’ve almost convinced me to get up right now and go see what’s happening in my garden. Oh, okay. I’ll go. 🙂

    Like

  4. I love the color of your Iris. Mine are shades of purple and now, sadly, done for the season. But, like you, I am starting to see signs of butterfly weed, astilbe, day lilies and foxglove. With in a week, my garden will be abundant again. Thanks for sharing your beautiful views!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Karma says:

    THIS is the most wonderful time of the year in my opinion! Nicely done, Carol 🙂

    Like

  6. Lisa says:

    Beautiful! Looks like you’re having a marvelous spring. It was lovely here as well. But lots and lots of rain kept me from being outside enjoying most of it.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

