Through Utah, Quickly

I think before we go back to the coast, we’ll spend a day – or parts of a couple days at least – in Utah. When I did my road trip to New Mexico in March, the plan for the trip home was to spend a couple of nights and a whole day in Utah so I could do some touring of the national parks there. But, as so often happens to me when I’ve been gone from home for awhile, delays in getting there just don’t work out for me. So I got to Utah, taking a few photos as I drove, then decided to spend one night rather than two and head on home. The photos below are what I got that I deemed worth sharing.

Driving into the state, this butte caught my eye and required that I pull over to get a photo. If I don’t stop when something calls out “take my picture” I will regret it later you know.
P1040223

Late in the afternoon I saw the turnoff to Newspaper Rock coming up – my chiropractor had told me I had to stop there, a historic Petroglyph site. Sometimes I listen.
P1040228
P1040227

I think I didn’t find the Petroglyphs, although I wasn’t sure. Perhaps there were some up there?
P1040230

Was this one?
P1040231

Looking up Newspaper Rock on the internet, I don’t think I found the area where the Petroglyphs are at all. But Shasta and I had a nice walk, and now I can say I was there, with photos to prove it. I headed on to the motel I had reserved for the night – for two nights, actually, but I changed that to one night.

Moving on the next day, there were windy roads
P1040245

and I found Wilson’s Arch, so at least I got a picture of one arch.
P1040234
P1040235

On into northern Utah, through Salt Lake City and out the other side of the city, The Great Salt Lake
P1040251
P1040252
P1040254

Continuing on, watching the road, my mind in neutral, the terrain turned white and I thought “hmmm, white sand? Maybe salt flats?” Remember, I said my mind was in neutral. Then I saw a sign that said “Bonneville” and my mind woke up, clicked and said, “Duh! Of course stoopy, you’ve seen commercials filmed in the Bonneville Salt Flats. Where did you think they were?” Yep. Duh. It goes like that sometimes.
P1040257

So that was Utah for me. Maybe someday a trip just to tour the national parks. Maybe. Someday.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Through Utah, Quickly

  1. lakeafton says:

    I’d love to do Utah. I’ve never been there. Well, maybe the very,very southern part when we were in Northern Arizona

    Like

  2. suzicate says:

    I loved Utah. Zion was amazing. I didn’t get to see the salt flats. I want to go back and see the things we missed. Enjoyed your photos. I’m glad you and Shasta had a nice outing.

    Like

  3. loisajay says:

    it looks beautiful! I love Wilson’s Arch…and the windy road sign, too!

    Like

  4. Dawn says:

    Well worth a trip back to see Zion and Bryce and Arches..and and and and…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Robin says:

    Utah looks wonderful, even quickly. I can’t wait to get out that way and visit the state for myself someday. 🙂

    Like

  6. I love all your pictures, especially the butte, Wilson’s Arch and Newspaper Rock, so I’m glad you listened when they cried out to be photographed. It sounds like it was a fun trip. Glad you recognized the salt flats too. 🙂

    Like

  7. Carol — I especially enjoyed the photo of Wilson’s Arch. That’s a doozie! 🙂

    Like

  8. That is a beautiful part of the country. I have spent some time camping in the national parks, exploring arches, canyons and ridges. Hopefully I’ll get back there in the next few years. Glad you had time to take a few photos to share.

    Like

  9. Was it as hot over there as it looks?

    Like

  10. Lisa says:

    I can see there were many things that called out to you! Glad you headed their calls and snapped these shots. The Wilson Arch really looks amazing.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

