Share Your World – 2015 Week 20

On this rainy morning, it seems a perfect time to share more of my world with Cee. I feel no need to be constructively productive today, so I think I will use the day to satisfy my creative urges.

1. What is the most important thing that you ever learned? (I bet it’s not something you learned in school) You are so right, Cee, the thing I learned that I think is the most important was not something I learned in school. It took me a very long time to learn that it was not my responsibility to change myself in order to save a failing relationship. I did not need to become what I felt the other person wanted me to be – I needed to be true to myself, to be the best “me” that I could be. The old “if I just change this in myself or that in myself. . .” was too destructive and not very successful anyway.

2. What feeds your enthusiasm for life? Oh gosh, I don’t know. Maybe finally accepting the fact that I don’t have to always be accomplishing something – have I really accepted that, though? The old WASP work ethic breathes fire sometimes. So let me just say that I am learning to accept that, that I am learning to believe that time for myself, time to do what I want to do rather than what I need to do, is as important as breathing. I think also that having survived breast cancer played a very large part in fueling my enthusiasm for life, as well as my recognition of how short life can be and how important it is to make the best of each day we’re given.

3. What’s your most memorable (good or bad) airplane commercial or private flight? Let’s go with good, at least first. It was a flight I took on British Airways heading to Warsaw, Poland, with an overnight stop in London several years ago. The flight over was long, but nice – roomy seats, with the luck of having a window seat with no one in the seat next to me, and a young man currently living in New Zealand but flying home to London for a visit in the seat facing me, with no partner in his two-seat row either. We had a really nice visit on that flight. The flight home, however – another story. I was in the middle seat of five seats across in the center and smoking was still allowed on planes. I smoked back then, but even then I had trouble tolerating much smoke in small enclosed areas. Not fun at all. Flying now is not so enjoyable, what with all the security measures, especially since I question the success of those measures anyway.

4. If you were a great explorer, what would you explore? Whoa! I really don’t know. I’ve never thought of myself as an explorer, great or otherwise. Maybe I’d mimic Jane Goodall and explore/study the lives of apes, or monkeys, or Koala bears – maybe Pandas. I think it would have to be learning about some kind of animal life. Or perhaps I’d mimic Jacques Cousteau and explore coral reefs all over the world. Safely, in shark-free waters. I’ve never claimed to be brave.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Last week was quiet with not much happening. I think I’m grateful for weeks like that – weeks where I do just enough to satisfy myself (there’s that WASP thing) with enough time to relax and satisfy the “me” time thing too. This coming week? I expect more of the same, and I’m looking forward to the sunny days that are supposed to follow these rainy days we’ve been having. Oh yeah, I’m grateful for the rain since this year has been one where all of our moisture has moved to the east of us.

I think I’ll share a few more photos of people unaware today. My kids will probably want to kill me after this, since a couple of the photos involve them.

P1000949_1024

P1010278_1024

P1010279_1024

P1010792_1024

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Share Your World – 2015 Week 20

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    I like your answer to the first question Carol. Your photos are fun. I like the last photo of the painter.

    Like

  2. Carol — The most important thing I’ve learned in life, so far, is something I share with my clients almost every day:

    “Whatever you are not changing, you are choosing.” — Laurie Buchanan

    I, too, love the photos. They’re always so colorful (literally and figuratively) 🙂

    Like

  3. suzicate says:

    I love your answer to #1…the world would have much less heartache and more peace if people learned that much younger in life.

    Like

  4. Sounds like you have solid exploration plans! Living within a group of primates sounds like a great time. But maybe I am biased.

    Like

  5. Great photos and studying koala bears sounds like big fun!

    Like

  6. Heather says:

    I always love photos of your kids! You guys just exude love for each other.
    That first lesson is a doozy. Right up there with learning that the only thing you can really control is your own behavior.
    I was all wistful for flying days that I never experienced, until I got to the part about smoking. I’d probably trade what we have now for that, though I’ll be the first to admit that’s a false dichotomy.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

