Five Photos, Five Stories #5

P1040324

Sam Squirrel says: All tuckered out, I am. I’ve been busily eating at the feeder (which, by the way, was really intended for the birds) for quite some time now, and nap time is calling. No point in going elsewhere to relax, however, this branch is really quite comfortable and it provides just enough sun and just enough shade. It’s important to get as much rest as possible this month, because nesting time will be coming up again in June. Then there will be all those little babies to feed, to watch over, to protect from any threats that might come by. Oh yes, it’s important to rest while there is time. You people have no idea how hard it is to be me – you have a love/hate relationship with me, I know – you resent the fact that I invade the feeders you put up for those feathered flying creatures, and I don’t understand that. Don’t you recognize that I must eat too? You like to watch me running around in your yards, racing up and down the trees, chattering when something unwanted approaches, protecting my territory when it needs it, sharing my territory when I feel like playing with others. You laugh at me, so why is it you get so angry other times? You can’t have it both ways, you know. If you’ll excuse me now, I feel my eyes getting heavy.

I say: Today is the last day of my five days of photos and stories. It’s been fun and I’ve enjoyed seeing what those I’ve nominated have come up with. There are many I have not mentioned that I would like to have nominated, so let’s do this on this last day: if you’re reading this and you think it looks like fun, please jump right in! Post a photo a day for five days, with a story, either fiction or non-fiction, or a poem or essay or any other form of writing that you might feel like doing. Then pass it on, nominating fellow bloggers to join in. Go for it, you’ll like it!

Footnote: Sam Squirrel, male or female? It could be either – Sam for Sam or Sam for Samantha. Make it what you want, no one will judge.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Five Photos, Five Stories #5

  1. loisajay says:

    I do enjoy the antics of the squirrels and this little one is a cutie!. Nicely done, Carol.

    Like

  2. The way he lounges around after a meal makes me think Sam must be a male!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Five photos, five days #3 | Change Is Hard

  4. suzicate says:

    Ha, the squirrels here think the bird feed is a feast for all!

    Like

  5. Carol — I love your fat and sassy Sam!

    Like

  6. Lisa says:

    Ahhh, so cute! I have no issue with squirrels until they raid a nest of baby birds! And they are an endless source of exercise for the puppers!

    Like

  7. Robin says:

    Sam is so cute. He tells a good story, too. 🙂 This was a lot of fun, Carol, and I think I might jump in and give it a try.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Five photos, five days #5 | Change Is Hard

I'd love to hear from you!

