Five Photos – Five Stories #2

Today’s photo was taken at the coast this past week:

P1040551

A little girl running full speed into the water at Beverly State Beach, on a day that had me pulling my jacket more tightly around me. To capture her, I had to shoot into the sun and could not see my LCD screen because of the bright light, so I pointed, zoomed, hoped for the best and clicked. I am happy with what I got.

This little girl was thrilled to be out on a sunny, albeit chilly, day – no school because it was Saturday. Early yet in the spring, a few weeks before summer, one of the first weekend days to have sunshine, and the ocean waters were calling to her. I imagine her family was equally excited to get out into the fresh air and sunshine, days that have to be grabbed and made the most of when they are available on a rainy coast.

I thought how wonderful to be that young, that free, that able to withstand a chilly wind and to plunge with every fiber of your being into welcoming waters. No fear, just go! I remembered being that age, refusing to get out of the water even though my lips were blue and I was shivering like an aspen leaf in the breeze. I remembered when being in the water was the best part of my life, summers on the beaches – for me, it was most often the beaches of fresh water lakes in Minnesota. Days with no cares, nothing that needed my attention other than my pleasure.

Ah yes, back in the day . . .

Today I would like to nominate Jay of the Sparking Synapse. I know you’re having some tough times now, Jay, but I’m hoping this will be a welcome diversion. If not, I understand.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Five Photos – Five Stories #2

  1. suzicate says:

    Love this photo! Looks like you captured two surfers or boaters in the background.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lakeafton says:

    That’s a wonderful photo. It captures the moment. The back light makes it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Robin says:

    Wonderful photo, Carol. I enjoyed the story, too. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Carol ā€” Oh my gosh, what a FANTASTIC photographic capture!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. loisajay says:

    I do love that little dog in the background. Obviously he agreed with you that the water was too cold!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lisa says:

    Ii shoot a lot of photos with my little digital camera and have no idea what I’m actually capturing! This is a great shot of a carefree mindset and you’re observations about youth are so accurate!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

