History, Blue Door, and How Did They Get That There

Today we’re back in New Mexico, trekking around with my brother and sis-in-law. Before we moved on from our picnic, sis-in-law got a picture of brother and me.
P1040104

We had come down from the mountains to check out some of the old mining towns in the area. We first visited Lake Valley, which is where many of the photos of my Rusty Relics came from. Then we headed to Hillsboro
P1030955
which was started in 1877 when the gold was first discovered there. By 1907, Hillsboro had a population of 1200. This picture shows a portion of the building that I believe was the home of the druggist and post office in 1905.
P1030947

The structure below began its life as a bank, then became a house of ill repute operated by Sadie Orchard who was a mover and shaker in the area mining communities back in the day. Later it became a bar and restaurant, and the sign says it is now a vineyard, although I suspect it is another bar and restaurant.
P1030949

There were colorful buildings
P1030945

the house with trim of bright blues (the blue door)
P1030944

a Catholic church
P1030940
with a bell in its tower. I wondered if the bell tolls on Sunday mornings.
P1030941

Outside of town, we came upon Percha Creek.
P1030929
P1030930

This innocent-looking creek swelled after a sudden rain in June of 1914, causing a good deal of damage to the town of Hillsboro, and taking the life of the sheriff who was attempting to make certain his wife was safe.
P1030936
And I wondered – how ever did they manage to get graffiti on this bridge? Determination and more guts than brains, I suspect.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to History, Blue Door, and How Did They Get That There

  1. Carol โ€” Slowly scrolling down through your beautiful photographs is like turning the pages โ€” one by one โ€” in a lovely storybook. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Robin says:

    I enjoyed the tour, Carol. It looks like a wonderful place, especially to photograph (which you did so well!). I often wonder about graffiti like that, the kind that you know someone had to do something foolish to accomplish.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So many stories! The one about the sheriff will stay with me. Love the photo of you and brother!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks like a fun little town to visit and it’s nice you get to spend time with your brother and sister-in-law. I wonder too how that graffiti got on that bridge. Some very determined folks, that’s for sure. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. leendadll says:

    LOVE those blue doors! I’m planning to have the house re-stucco-ed/painted and debating between serene and wild.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

