Rusty Relics

Today I want to share some of the rusty relics – which is how I feel some days – that I captured on my recent trip. Signs that man occupied these spaces at one time, sadness that we leave clutter behind, but gladness that that clutter becomes photo ops. This post will do double duty as an entry into Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge, with my apology to the followers of that challenge for the number of pictures included.

A (relatively) modern version of the wooden wheel – can you picture your ancestors having a wagon with these wheels to carry their supplies home, back in the day? I’m sure they would have had sturdy horses to pull the wagon and would have been singing “Oklahoma” all the way. Or maybe “Paint my Wagon”.
P1040210

A more modern wheel in the repair station?
P1030975

As time went on, they had tractors to work their fields – the horses became less needed.
P1040144

With creativity and ingenuity, man created automobiles
P1030967

with lights so they could even be driven at night.
P1030968

As time passed on, automobiles grew larger and fancier
P1040200

For those whose budgets did not allow the purchase of an amazing automobile, there was the bus that would carry them long distances
P1030923

and roads went from dirt to concrete.
P1040199

Exciting times when airwaves were captured by these gadgets that became a standard in every home, bringing news to all and entertainment – remember “the Shadow knows”, Amos and Andy and so many other nuggets – that held the family together in their living rooms after dinner?
P1040207

Doing laundry moved from the river to a basin
P1030970

until finally the washing machine came on the scene.
P1030965

Food was available in cans so everyone could share the delight of the baked bean.
P1030969

And then there was this alien item, for which I cannot find a story.
P1030973

It is the way of the world – given enough time, all things become relics and many become rusty. We leave behind us a lot of clutter and a bit of history.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Rusty Relics

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Carol, you found some gems. I like the rusted cans. Okay so the only I can say for sure is that I thoroughly enjoyed your post.

    Like

  2. What a great collection!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoyed the relic story you wove together with photographs!

    For humans, we seem to have a mighty big dose of “litter bug” as evidenced by the trail(s) we leave behind. Even when we went to the moon we left behind all kinds of garbage that can now be seen in photos taken by telescopic cameras at various observatories. We saw the evidence of our “trashy tendencies” from the Palomar Mountain Observatory in southern California.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. loisajay says:

    Carol–I loved this!! The automobile is my favorite. Oh, those rusted cans. Pretty in the way you have captured them but, goodness…shame on us for all the litter.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. suzicate says:

    I think rusty relics are awesome! I wish they could tell us their stories…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. jay53 says:

    I love the story you made around these rusty relics! I think they’re all great, with the possible exception of the washing machine which somehow manages to be a lot less picturesque than the others. Perhaps because it’s not so rusty?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Don’t apologize for the number of pictures. They’re awesome! And a neighbor of mine used to have one of those washing machines. And radio yes the Lone Ranger rides again !

    Liked by 1 person

  8. leendadll says:

    LOVE the cans pic because I sometimes think about how we used to see rusted cans all along highways but you don’t see it anymore. It’s a good thing but I still miss it.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

