Not All Gas Pumps Are Created Equal

I live in a state where it is illegal to pump your own gas – unless you’re at a station owned by the Klamath Tribes.
P1040206

The result of not pumping gas for over fifteen years is that on my recent trip I had to relearn how to operate gas pumps. What I learned is that all pumps are not the same.
P1040189

Pay inside or pay outside, select payment method, insert card, remove card quickly
P1040192

do you want a receipt, push yes or no – except sometimes I could not find yes or no,
P1040193

lift nozzle, select grade of gas, insert nozzle and begin pumping.
P1040204

Except sometimes you also had to lift the lever into which the nozzle fit – but the instructions failed to mention that.
P1040195

And sometimes my card could not be read, which meant paying inside was the only option. But they want to know how much to charge – huh? I have no idea, so time for a random guess. In this instance, my guess turned out to be a good one.
P1040201

I once met the junkyard cat, who offered his friendship in exchange for a belly rub
P1040196

and then headed for a shady spot in which he could rest quietly. Or not. Because sometimes people would disturb him.
P1040208

The junkyard cat was a tension reliever, but sometimes the vagaries of the pump made me want to jump into my vehicle and take off
P1040197

except without gas my vehicle would not go and the other modes of transportation available were not my choice
P1040202

so I would have to ask for help, feeling ridiculous, hating the helpless female image. Life can be a challenge.

Now I’m home again, I do not have to pump my own gas.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Not All Gas Pumps Are Created Equal

  1. keaneonlife says:

    Great pictures, funny story. I was in the same position earlier in the year. And that gas on the hands smell. Yuk.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Heather says:

    Say what??? It’s illegal to pump your own gas? I am astonished. And I cam remember the first days pumping my own gas – no instructions, just figure out the not-so-obvious obvious. I can still do it, but I almost never do because I conveniently let the tank get low enough so that Tony will just do it ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hey, I’m not lazy about much else, so I’ll let his manliness take this one concession.
    Loved the photos. Funny the things that become collectible. Who would’ve guess old gas pumps?

    Like

    • Carol says:

      It took me awhile after we moved here to remember not to try to pump my own gas, just like it took me awhile to learn how to pump it when service stations first became gas stations.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sheri B says:

    Great story, Carol!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jay53 says:

    I love this post! The pictures are absolutely wonderful – such old pumps, and they still work? Those are great!

    I like the way you tell it, too. You definitely have a way with words, Carol!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love the photos. Love LOVE the narrative. That old truck is gorgeous and those pumps are ‘American Pickers’ worthy!!!
    GREAT POST!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. What a cute, colorful and quirky post. I love these gas stations and that truck! Great photos and story. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great pictures, what an interesting place. I like your story too although I’m puzzled by the idea of it being illegal to pump gas yourself. Here finding a service station where they will do it for you is like finding a needle in a haystack. As a non driver I’ve never had to do it although I do often have to go and pay for it.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Carol โ€” you’re photographs stirred some great growing-up memories.Today, at the age of 57, I utterly D-E-S-P-I-S-E pumping gas. Thanks to my husband (Len) it’s rare that I have to But on that rare occasion….

    Liked by 1 person

  9. suzicate says:

    Illegal to pump your own gas, seriously? What state do you live in? I admit I strategically plan for my husband to use my car so my gas is pumped, but when I have to I do it myself. I remember the lovely days here (way back) when there was a gas attendant to pump, clean windshields, and check your oil…can’t find a station anymore that will provide full service like that anymore!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. loisajay says:

    In between ‘remove card quickly’ and ‘receipt yes/no’ I have to enter my zip code. Is Big Brother watching? I love your pictures of the old gas pumps. My kids have no idea what it is like to sit in the car while your gas is pumped, oil checked and windshield cleaned–with a smile! Great post, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Robin says:

    Fun post!! I love this series of images. I grew up in N.J. where we have to remember, whenever we visit, that it’s illegal to pump our own gas. The weird thing is that the gas is cheaper there than in other states where we have to pump it ourselves.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Dawn says:

    I have to enter my zip code too. Especially annoying if I’m not wearing my glasses or the sun is shining just so on the face of the pump. NJ also doesn’t allow you to pump your own. I don’t understand what the benefit is and to whom. Is your gas more expensive so that you can pay for someone to stand there and do it? Not that I like pumping my own, but I think I’d feel like I had to tip!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      Yes, I forgot about the zip code part. Our gas cost is higher than New Mexico and the Midwestern states, but lower than California, where you pump your own.

      Like

    • Carol says:

      Dawn, as to tipping, I’ve never felt that way. Back in the day, when gas stations were service stations, it was never expected.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

  13. What a fun post. I wouldn’t have a clue how to fill my tank. I suppose I should get hubby to show me one day. ๐Ÿ™‚ Love the old gas pumps. Have you been collecting them? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Karma says:

    This is a cute post. I don’t remember the last time someone pumped gas for me, let alone saw a station actuallly offering “full serve”.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

