A Wood Burning Oven, Taos and a Tired Puppy

While I was in Santa Fe, the Artistic One and I did a lot of exploring and today I’m going to share a little bit more about those explorations.

One day for lunch we decided to try a little pizza place she’d heard about; the fact that it was busy seemed to be a good sign. We discovered they have a wood burning oven, in which all of their food is prepared
P1040220

and a bread oven from which came delicious looking and smelling breads.
P1040216P1040221

We had a Margarita Pizza, which had nothing to do with the drink. We ate every bit of it, and obviously I was hungry when it arrived because I did not take the time to take a photo. Take my word for it, it was delicious!

One day we drove to Taos, and on the way stopped to take a picture of Camel Rock. I think it has a sphinx-ish look to it.
P1040211

In Taos, we wandered. First we went down the street on which Kit Carson’s house resides (it’s the third building from the left):
P1040157

Kit was married three times; the first two marriages were to Indian women. He married his third and final wife, Josefa, when she was 14. They had eight children and she died during the birth of the eighth child. Kit was broken-hearted, and died a month later.
P1040159

Part of their courtyard:
P1040160

We wandered the “Square”, where we saw many fun shops, colorful wind chimes, vivid textiles and found a little restaurant with outside seating for lunch:
P1040164
P1040163
P1040162
P1040161
P1040165

Lunch was delicious. Of course. I learned to expect no less in New Mexico, and I did take a picture of it:
P1040166

In every little town, there should be a Trading Post:
P1040158

We had left Shasta and the Artistic One’s little furry girl home. I have no idea what they did in our absence, but it was obviously exhausting!
P1030895

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Wood Burning Oven, Taos and a Tired Puppy

  1. Lisa says:

    Love the colorful square shots! And the pooped pupper is just too cute. I’m afraid Kit’s wife may have died from exhaustion with eight births! But interesting, nonetheless. I’m always fascinated by how many children our ancestors hard to have in order to have any descendants at all!

    Like

  2. All of the photos are wonderful, but the one that absolutely takes the cake is the last one — precious!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. loisajay says:

    That little baby is just tuckered out! So cute.

    Like

  4. What a cute little town. I love the colors of southwestern things: blankets, pillows, cushions, etc. Camel Rock looks really cool; it does look rather sphinx-ish. Thanks for the history lesson on Kit Carson. Fun times, and the little exhausted pooch is really adorable. Wonder what they were up to! 🙂

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    Got my reader working again, so I’ll be checking through your blogs now 🙂
    I think all food should be prepared in a wood burning oven. Okay, maybe not all. But at least MORE of it should. I would love to have a good margharita pizza right now! They’re my favorite when the mozzarella is good and the basil is fresh!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

