Share Your World – 2015 Week 4

This week is nearly at an end already – and I am just now getting ready to Share My World. Better late than never, maybe.

1. Where did you live at age five? Is it the same place or town you live now? When I was five, we lived in Arnegard, North Dakota. We left there soon after and started our lives as nomads when my dad became a construction worker. I have lived many, many places since then.

2. You are invited to a party that will be attended by many fascinating people you never met. Would you attend this party if you were to go by yourself? It would depend – on my mood, on who was going to be there, how much I felt like going out and mingling with those people. I would be more likely to go if there was at least one person I knew and liked that would be there. I have my hermit times, you know.

3. Did you grow up in a small or big town? Did you like it? I grew up in mostly smaller towns. Some very small, some not as small, some on the outskirts of big cities. I prefer smaller towns really. When I was a kid what I liked was having lots of outdoor space for roaming, and if we could be on a body of water I was happiest. Hmmm, really not much has changed about my preferences.

4. As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? The first thing I remember wanting to be was a stewardess. It seemed such an exciting, glamorous job. I grew too tall for the regulations then, however, so I didn’t do that. Now I think I’m glad I didn’t. Not sure I’d do well at what they have to do, which seems less glamorous and a lot more drudgery now than it did when I was a kid.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for a dinner with friends, quiet time with my furry girls, being free to make my own choices. I am looking forward to – some walks with Shasta while Bailey stays home and rests, time with friends on Super Bowl Sunday, standing upright each morning.

Shasta and I did go on one walk this past week – we headed to the wetlands on a chilly, dreary day.
P1030652
On this day, the world was primarily browns and grays. We saw a goose off in the distance and heard more geese and some ducks, but most of our water birds go to warmer climes for the winter. Even in browns and grays, there is beauty.
P1030656
P1030654
P1030651

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Share Your World – 2015 Week 4

  1. jay53 says:

    Apart from the mountains in the background, your scenery is not too dissimilar to ours. Flat, browns and greys, and water. Few trees. I prefer hills, myself – and like you, my tastes haven’t changed much since I was a child. I still like the coast, and much prefer countryside (preferably with ups, downs, trees and hedges) to cityscapes.

    Like

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    I lived in North Dakota when I was 3 and 4 in a little town called Wallhalla. Up on the northeast corner just south of the Canadian Border. My parents said that the cartoons on tv were in both french and english and I knew french quite well. Although I don’t know a word of it now. šŸ™‚ Thanks Carol for sharing.

    Like

  3. I always enjoy your photographs ā€” they’re so crisp!

    Like

  4. lakeafton says:

    Living in the Hudson Valley, our mountains are rounded, but I’ve always loved living where I can see hills.

    Like

  5. Joanne says:

    Your browns and grays are really beautiful, Carol. šŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Dawn says:

    Imagine being able to see mountains like that whenever you want! Have a great weekend Carol. Thanks for brushing the snow off my windshield last night! šŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Thanks for the visit. From one part-time hermit to another. Shasta is adorable. And yes, even browns and grays are a thing of beauty. āœŒļø

    Like

  8. Robin says:

    Even in browns and grays, there is a lot of beauty in your images. šŸ™‚ I wanted to be a stewardess at some point, too. And a nun. Maybe the flying nun? lol!

    Like

  9. Lisa says:

    Love your water reflection shots. Very lovely even if they are in the brown family. I’d like to think I would venture out to then party even if I didn’t know anyone….but I’d have to know at least one to have been the recipient of the invite, right? šŸ™‚ I was born a city girl, but have gravitated to preferring more rural settings…..but within close proximity to city amenities. Does that still make me a “city girl”? Hope your weekend is a good one, my friend. xoxox

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Robin says:

    Living near water is really my favorite place to live. A city on the water is even better. Some small towns are really nice. What a beautiful place to live. Your photos are beautiful. I think my favorite one is the mountains with light on the snow caps.

    Like

  11. Jayne says:

    No surprises from me when I say I love being near water too – an island dweller through and through.
    You mentioning the water birds made me think of the Canada geese that came each year to over-winter in the bay in front of my house as a child. I never really appreciated the vast distances they would have travelled. (I can still hear their distinctive chatter in my head).
    When do the migrating birds return to your area? It must be fantastic to see them all returning in their squadrons.

    Like

    • Carol says:

      I think it’s usually May before many of the migrating birds return, although a few might come in earlier – mainly the red-wing and yellow-headed blackbirds, Jayne. It is happy time when the my world shows spring.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

  12. I agree that there is beauty even in browns and grays. You just have to see it and believe it. I have mafe numerous dried arrangements this season out of seed pods, dried berry vines, fallen pine boughs and dried flower or grass heads. You just have to open your mind to something other than fresh flowers from the market. Winter can have its own beauty, especially with a clean layer of powdery snow. Thanks for sharing your winter scenery!

    Like

  13. Karma says:

    You are off to a great start with sharing your world and photos this year. Seems like my blogging mojo is hibernating for the winter, so I’m happy to have your place (and Robin’s) to regularly visit for beauty and fun. I love the beauty in your browns and grays. I think I’d be happy for a little brown around here; we are getting dumped on by the white once again!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Heather says:

    I’m drawn to the wetlands on dreary days. I wish mine were backed with the glorious mountains that yours are. But I’ll happily take what I’ve got.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

