Share Your World – 2015 Week 1

I managed to miss sharing my world at the end of 2014 – except I really did share my world, just not with Cee’s challenge, so here it is, a new year, a clean slate, starting all over again!

1. How do you get rid of pesky phone calls from telemarketers? The most effective way I found to get rid of telemarketers was to get rid of my landline. A few years ago (maybe several years ago now – time flies) husband and I decided it would be more economical and more practical for each of us to have a cell phone than one cell phone and a landline. I have not regretted making that choice and now if my phone rings it’s usually a call I want – or at least from someone I know.

2. What are you a “natural” at doing? I am a “natural” at a couple of things – an expert natural, at that! I am a natural at building clutter piles, and I am a natural at procrastinating. I do both of those things exceptionally well, although I must confess my procrastinating expertise works best with things I don’t really want to do.

3. How often do you get a haircut? Whenever my hair starts bugging me. Since it’s so fine now, when it starts tickling my ears or the back of my neck, I know it’s time to get a haircut – this usually happens every six weeks to two months. That’s usually accompanied by the sticky-outies trying to look cute by peering around the ears, sort of like little devil horns from the side of my head.

4. What’s the first thing that comes to mind when you hear the word “fun”? Time with those I love. Taking my big girls for a walk someplace other than our neighborhood. Exploring places I haven’t been.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for seeing another year come in. I am looking forward to a few days with high temps in the low 50s and maybe even getting outside to pick up some pinecones. Anybody want some pinecones? I have an abundance.

This week I’m going to share a few photos I took at Nha Trang, but did not use in previous blogs. Just because I can.

Texture on the bricks at Po Nagar
P1030444
When the ocean was angry
P1030568
P1030550
An interesting building at night
P1030420
The beginnings of shredded coconut
P1030392

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Share Your World – 2015 Week 1

  1. orples says:

    Hey Carol, first off I love the photo of that wave (4th photo down). I almost want to jump into it. If the Orples were playing on your blog, Oscar probably would. LOL. He loves water. And your coconuts remind me of a tree we had in our backyard in Florida, when I was a child many years ago. I got clonked on the head with a falling coconut which left me with severe headaches for days afterwards. Thank God it was only a ‘seedling’ as far as coconuts go (about the size of an egg).

    I have already answered this challenge, but will leave short answers here since you have gong so in depth with your insights to yourself.

    1.) Telemarketers … I politely remind them that I am on a ‘do not call’ list. They apologize and say goodbye to me rather quickly. Problem solved. No feeling are hurt. — An ounce of Prevention.
    2.) I am a natural at hitting ‘reply’ prior to proofreading what I just wrote.
    3.) Every two years, or when my hair is long enough to donate to ‘Locks for Love’. This past year I have been waiting for my hair to grow back from chemo, so it will be a while before I am ready for my next haircut.
    4.)Horseback riding

    Like

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    You sound like you are in a happy place. Your photos Carol are just beautiful! 🙂

    Like

  3. suzicate says:

    I took out my home phone a few months ago to get rid of those pesky telemarketers, and last night I received one on my cell phone, ugh!

    Like

  4. Heather says:

    Your photos are helping keep me warm. It’s been too cold lately for much of a walk. Petey’s paws just can’t take it, and we don’t have shoes for him.
    Funny how switching to cells took care of the telemarketing issue. But we don’t get many calls either, and we’ve been landline-free for over a decade.
    I am a natural at taking naps. Which I would be doing right now if it weren’t for this webinar I’ve got coming up…

    Like

  5. Carol, I am a natural at PROcratinating too. It is what I do best, wonder why I didn’t think about that? Beautiful photos.. I love the ocean and you caught some pretty waves.

    Like

  6. left the s out of PROcraStinating.. oops!

    Like

  7. Carol — That building against an indigo sky is amazing, but not nearly as amazing as your sticky-outy devil horns! 🙂

    Like

  8. Lisa says:

    Oooo, love the palm tree shot. That is my favorite shot to take while lying on my back in a beach chair on vacay!! Love the design in the wood on the first shot. We’re suppose to be on a No Call list, but the companies that are exempt from that list seems to be very, very long!

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Yeah, the thing about the no call list is that any company, or subsidiary thereof, that you’ve done business with is exempt. And then there are the rule-breakers.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

