View From the Top – With a Little Irreverence Thrown In

From atop the hill with the towers, one could see far, across the river and into the village below.
P1030432
P1030434
The view showed contrasts, from a comfortable resort
P1030497
to something that required a closer look
P1030469
which revealed – a laundry room for someone’s home?
P1030501
There were rooftops
P1030486
balconies
P1030502
and shops.
P1030485
Boats on the river
P1030433
P1030498
Atop the hill, there were many statues – I believe these were Hindu deities
2014-12-22 12.00.23
2014-12-22 12.00.46
2014-12-22 12.16.21
behind a headless statue someone before us had stacked some rocks, which of course invited the irreverence (with the hope that we would offend no one).
P1030490
P1030496
P1030494
And behind the pond was a hillock with large rocks, which invited meditation – of a sort – by Kat and I.
P1030472
P1030483
For Gep, it offered opportunities to do one of the things he does best.
P1030484
There were also flowers on the hilltop
P1030452
P1030437
and a child on the stairs.
P1030509
Before we leave, time to take a rest.
P1030506
Suddenly, our time was done. Kat and I had to catch a plane back to Saigon, but first one last foot and leg massage, which came with a bonus
2014-12-22 18.06.41
of cucumber slices on the face. Soooo relaxing – $5, people!

Then we headed back to the airport, leaving Gep behind for a couple more days before he headed off to Nepal. See some of what he was doing after we left at http://www.santacruzprophotos.com – then click on “Blog”. I think you’ll be as impressed as I am.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to View From the Top – With a Little Irreverence Thrown In

  1. Cracking up at the improvisation photos with the headless statue!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Colleen says:

    Wonderful wonderful photos Carol! It has been a rare treat following your travels with Kat and Gep. And Gep’s photos and blog are very worthy of a read, exceptional, in all ways. Wishing you all the best in the New Year 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Heather says:

    These are terrific! Genuinely made me laugh out loud 🙂
    So happy you had this opportunity and took it – so inspiring!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lakeafton says:

    I’m sure the meditation outweighed the irreverence. Great photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. suzicate says:

    I so cracked up at your, Gep, and Kat’s poses with the statue! You look like a cucumber mummy in the last photo…oooh relaxing…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. orples says:

    I see you guys had a good time with that headless statue to round out your day. 😉 It looks like you had a wonderful day altogether. Good for you. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    Like

  7. Lisa says:

    It’s always amazing to see the way people in other countries live. That first shot is a wonderful panoramic. I find it a bit odd to see the baby in a coat and hat, yet you all are in summer attire! Your irreverent poses made me smile…and I know no disrespect was intended. 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

