A Brief Walk in the City

Disclaimer: This blog is being typed in the afternoon of our first day in Ho Chi Minh City, but will not post until tomorrow morning. If I do this right.

The view from our hotel window early in the morning (if you define “early” as prior to 8:00 a.m.)

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/3c4/31622302/files/2014/12/p1030277.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/3c4/31622302/files/2014/12/p1030273.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/3c4/31622302/files/2014/12/p1030275.jpg
After a lazy start to the morning, we dressed and went downstairs to the restaurant for a brunch – typically American, really, because we weren’t sure what the Vietnamese words meant, so we had club sandwiches with ice tea and juice. Then we wandered out to the streets, more literally than we had anticipated

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/3c4/31622302/files/2014/12/p1030289.jpg
because the sidewalks are meant for parking, obviously.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/3c4/31622302/files/2014/12/p1030311.jpg
We found a produce stand, which I loved even though there were items I could not identify

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/3c4/31622302/files/2014/12/p1030281.jpg
and, of course, we found a kitten because that happens wherever my Kat goes.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/3c4/31622302/files/2014/12/p1030280.jpg

We walked until we grew weary and that walk will be shown in more detail after I get back home – for now we share a brief look at the day. We saw the magic sign that said “massage” and followed the arrow. Following the arrow led to an $8 head-to-toe massage. The scalp massage, the face massage, the temples, the neck, then a lovely cooling cucumber mask, which made us beautiful (but did little for the makeup we had so carefully applied before we left the hotel) while the little Vietnamese girls with the soft lilting voices moved to our feet and our legs and, after leaving us to marinate in their magic oils for awhile while Christmas carols lulled us in the background, moved on to the arms, then rolled us over and did our backs, our shoulders – the whole body thing – with lovely oils, followed by a little rubdown with hot towels, followed by hot stones rubbed over the back and then placed along the spine. Kat got the feisty masseuse, the one who walked on her back and giggled. Apparently my masseuse was not so sure walking on me was the thing to do – and I appreciate that – because I got the massage with hands and stones as she straddled my body. Beat that, American masseuses – for $8!

And now it is time to go meet our Gep at the airport.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Brief Walk in the City

  1. What could be better than experiencing a Vietnamese massage for $8 upon your arrival to Ho Chi Minh City. It looks like it’s nice and warm there. Happy Christmas, Carol, Kat and Gep! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Karma says:

    It must be Saturday night for you as I am typing this comment Saturday morning. You must be with both of your kids now – such a wonderful feeling! Your massage sounded pretty wonderful too!

    Like

  3. Carol β€” Oh my blessed word, I’m so jealous of the relaxing massage you described. And the price? You simply can’t beat it with a stick!

    Like

  4. Robin says:

    Your message sounds heavenly! I love the picture of Kat with the cat. πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    $8?? I bet that soothed the plane ride right out of your travel weary bones πŸ™‚

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

