Birds Have Eyebrows and Other Observations

Sitting here on this foggy morning, my mind is darting about hither, thither and yon with no particular focus. I have moved from my normal morning seat in my morning room to the desk with the desktop computer and a view very similar to that from the morning room. I see outside grass still green, trees with no leaves, the Ponderosa Pines in the property behind mine obscuring view of the road perhaps 1500 yards away. The hills behind are not visible, cloaked by the fog. It is a silent morning today, a good day for staying inside where it is warm and dry, for letting the mind go where it wishes as mine most often does anyway.

I have noticed these past days as I look out my windows that birds have eyebrows. Some have masks, but more have eyebrows. Have you noticed? Just take a look here
P1030203
This Scrub Jay has white eyebrows, do you see? Perhaps they are more visible here
P1030202
His close kin, the Stellar Jay, has more vertically-oriented bright blue eyebrows on his black crested head, not as visible as I would like in this photo, but these jays are skittish and do not cooperate when I pick up my camera
P1020755
So I think about things like this as I linger over my morning coffee, between thoughts of what I might do on this day. There are many “should do” items, but I have found if I ignore them, they will wait. That might explain why often the clothes that are tumbling about in my dryer on the freshen cycle were also tumbling in my dryer the day before.
P1020746
That might also explain why the stack of things in the corner, meant to be put into the garage to be stored, are still stacked in my corner, as they have been for a few days now. And why my desk looks as it does – cluttered – but, as a former boss said to me “organized clutter. I know what’s in each pile”.
P1020711-2
Perhaps today I will actually do some of those things I have been thinking I “should” do. Perhaps. Maybe bring in some of my winter decorations, the red, white and sparkly florals for the vases, maybe a wreath or two for the doors.
P1030230
Perhaps I will go through the closet and some drawers and add items to the bags that are meant to be taken to the mission in town and the women’s shelter in town.
P1030224
Perhaps I will simply stay inside and think about what I might do, then decide to hunker down in my big chair with my blanket and read. Or play games. Perhaps I might continue to practice that procrastination game, to see if I can perfect it a little more.

Although I think I have it very near perfect now. Perhaps I should break out of my mold and pretend to be constructive.

While I decide, I think I will just have another cup of tea and think about how really none of this matters a good deal. What matters is that I am at peace and I have enough. What are you going to do with your day?

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Birds Have Eyebrows and Other Observations

  1. suzicate says:

    Gorgeous photos! You captured personalities as well as beauty…and the eyebrows lend to both!

    Like

  2. Joan β€” “What matters is that I am at peace and I have enough.” Yes, indeed. And that you noticed that birds have eyebrows. One even looks like it’s wearing Cleopatra-style eye liner!

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    I would much rather take photos of birds too! πŸ™‚ But, my “should-do” lists tend to scream at me if I’m gone too long!

    Like

  4. Joanne says:

    The view you describe sounds really lovely, Carol. Your little eyebrow-ed birds are so cute….we have some here, called Honeyeaters, that look like they are wearing bright blue mascara. It’s noticing little things like these that can really bring joy to your life at that moment. I have a busy day at home planned, having spent the last two days out and about, so I’d really better get to it! Lots of love to you. xx

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    I appreciate how you are noticing these characteristics of birds. I think that counts at being productive. Have another sip of tea πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Letting your mind wander is the perfect thing to do if it lets you ponder the eyebrows of birds, Carol. I’d say let procrastination become the order of the day. It is the “holiday season” after all, but too often we’re so busy with holiday preparations, we forget the meaning of the word “holiday.” Enjoy your “enough.” I’m trying to get motivated to do something on this cold and dreary Saturday here in China, but so far I’m just not feeling that push I need to get myself up and going. πŸ™‚

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

