A Morning Thrill

In the mornings, I usually open the door to let the dogs out for their first-thing-in-the-morning outing without looking outside into the yard first. There have been a couple of instances recently that I have done that, and they have gone racing and barking into the back yard, causing me to check it out, of course – and catching just a glimpse of deer racing into the scrub. But then a couple of days ago I got lucky!

The dogs were not out in the yard and I sat down at my desktop – which is positioned right in front of a large window. I looked out, and
P1030211-Edit
the deer were in the back yard, just at the edge of where the scrub begins – two of them! Judging by those ears, I would say these have to be Mule Deer.
P1030214-Edit
What fun! They were watching, but they apparently did not see me peering out my window, or if they did I did not appear to be a threat. Two deer! I loved it! Then, there were three
P1030215-Edit
Okay, this is getting really good! And as they started to head deeper into the scrub,
P1030216-Edit
three more appeared. Six!

Enough to give me delight in parts of this world around us at least. I hope this day finds you feeling a lot of delight and giving thanks with loved ones.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Morning Thrill

  1. What a sweet surprise on Thanksgiving day! Happy Thanksgiving, Carol! šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. How wonderful! I have never seen this wild
    side of your garden! Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

  3. Thank you for sharing this special moment šŸ™‚ I was telling my friend yesterday how I miss to have a garden (now living in the center of the city) and here – you just gave me that feeling of having a tiny bit of your garden (full of surprises)! Merci beaucoup, Signe

    Like

  4. Karma says:

    I would be equally delighted! I feel quite sure I’d never be allowed to get a picture on the rare occasion I see deer in my yard – Teddy scares them off before I can ever raise a lens.
    Hope you had a lovely Thanksgiving.

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    They must’ve all been packed in some kind of deer clown car šŸ™‚ How nice of them to show up just for your holiday delight!

    Like

  6. Two. Three. Then six. ā€” How darned cool is that?!

    Like

  7. dawnkinster says:

    How beautiful! So glad you got to watch them for awhile before they moved on. And before the dogs figured it out! Happy Thanksgiving Carol!

    Like

  8. Robin says:

    What a wonderful surprise! I would have been delighted with one, but six! Cool beans. šŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Lisa says:

    Deer are such lovely creatures. We have quite a few in our neighborhood as well. I’ve just learned to plant things they don’t like to eat….except day lilies. A couple of years ago, one doe gave birth in our yard!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

