Coming Home

Two weeks goes by very quickly I learned. My time visiting The Author in the beautiful Mid-Hudson Valley of New York had come to an end – something everything does, at some point in time. It was time to come home with mixed feelings. We had more to do, the two of us, time together was wonderful – yet home is my place, and I miss it when I’m gone. So she drove me to the airport, where we hugged and said – I don’t know, but it must have been something like “until we meet again”. I’m certain it was poetic. Of course it was.

From the windows upstairs in the waiting room – Stewart Airport is very small, having once been an Air Force base and not that far away from the big City of New York with it’s grand big airports – I could see some of the buildings from the time it was that military installation. Those big building up on the hill that look like they’re wrapped in black tarpaper? I worked in one of those, at a time when this base bustled, when it was the NORAD headquarters for that part of the country. Ahhhhhh, memories from back in the day.
P1030166

Boarding call, time to embark on a short leg of the flight back to Philadelphia, which was followed by another fairly short leg to Charlotte, NC, followed by a longer leg to Phoenix, AZ – I told you the powers that be in charge of itineraries changed mine after I booked, deciding obviously that I needed a tour of the country – which was followed by the final leg of the flight, getting me to Portland, OR in the dark hours of the night. But between Charlotte and Phoenix, we had an hours-long sunset, which we followed west. It started out soft and gentle
P1030167
turned into a blaze of glory, lighting up the clouds
P1030168
and ended with a final show which I’m sure featured fireworks, not able to be seen by the human eye.
P1030169

It is not often that one gets to enjoy a sunset that lasts for hours – so many moments of spectacular beauty are short-lived. As perhaps they should be. It might be that our hearts and souls could not stand too much beauty, too much excitement. If there was a saving grace to that itinerary, it was that sunset.

The next day in Portland it rained. And rained. And rained. The walk to the MAX station from my hotel seemed longer than I cared to make in the rain, so a taxi was summoned. They’ve changed – taxis. It’s been a long time since I was in one, but now they have meters that the passenger in the back can see, can swipe their credit card for payment. That seems a very good idea to me, so the drivers do not have to carry large amounts of cash. It’s also very convenient for the passenger, I think. My taxi got me safely to Union Station, dry and secure. Again, a boarding call, the last leg on my trip home.
P1030171

The rain followed us for most of the trip, delivering some dramatic skies as the sun set in the west.
P1030173

Home I arrived. Home I am, and have been for over a month. A month that has flown by, as time seems to do these days. It’s good. It’s all good. It is – enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Coming Home

  1. They say that every cloud has a silver lining but it looks as though yours (the itinerary change) had a golden one. Lovely pictures.

    Like

  2. suzicate says:

    Gorgeous sunset from each perspective. It’s always good to come home. The happiest people are those who know what they have is “enough”.

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    That’s the paradox of travel, I think. You love being Away, and adventuring, but you love Home, too. I think it’s best to focus on the sunset and pretend the rest of your return travails didn’t happen šŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Thank you for reminding me the days when I had to travel for work once a month – always flying (seldom train or car) and I had a chance to witness same lasting sunset, but don’t have any photos, so – thank you again! And may this feeling of “enough” last – always šŸ™‚ greetings from Europe, Signe

    Like

  5. Robin says:

    What a glorious sunset! I’m glad there was a payoff for all the plane switching you had to do. šŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Karma says:

    How wonderful to experience that hours-long sunset. You are right – too many of the beautiful times are far too fleeting. Your sunset was a great reminder to take those times in and appreciate them for all they are worth.

    Like

  7. Carol ā€” Those three-in-a-row sunsets took my breath away. FANTASTIC!

    Like

  8. Joanne says:

    Time really is flying by so fast lately, isn’t it? I don’t know what come over the world, but wasn’t it only last Christmas a couple of weeks ago? The sunset from your flight must have been a magical sight for you to enjoy, and I’m sure your fury girls are pleased to have you back home again. šŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Gorgeous pictures to accompany lovely and thoughtful words, as always.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

