Share Your World – 2014 Week 45

I’m sitting here trying to figure out what happened to the other 44 weeks of this year – how can we possibly be in November already, very near Thanksgiving, Christmas about to poke its head above the horizon? Cee, are you sure you’re counting correctly? Of course you are, I do not doubt you, truly. But still, where has the year gone?

1. What is your favorite color? Although it might be hard to tell looking at my wardrobe colors, really my favorite color(s) is anything in the blue family, from purple to jade green. My wardrobe contains every color in the rainbow and then some, I think, and I tend toward brights.

2. In what do you find the simplest of joys? The birds in the trees, the blooms in the garden, the positions my furry girls take in their sleep, their excitement when I come home from somewhere, the sunrise, the sunset. Life. My greatest joy is life.

3. Would you prefer a reading nook or an art, craft, photography studio? I can only have one? How about we have an all-purpose room that contains all of those? This is another of those “it depends. . .” upon my mood. I have converted my living room to my art/craft/computer room, but when I read or use the iPad I am usually in the morning room or family room, depending on time of day.

4. What is at least one of your favorite quotes? I have a particular fondness for Mark Twain, and one of my favorite quotes of his is “Wrinkles should merely indicate where smiles have been”. Another favorite, also from Twain, is “You can’t depend on your eyes when your imagination is out of focus”.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for sunny days and an unusually warm fall. I am grateful for the opportunity to go to a movie and have dinner out with a dear friend. I am looking forward to getting up each morning of the coming week, knowing my world is enough.

Today I think I’ll share some photos taken at Springwood, the home of FDR in Hyde Park, NY. The Author and I visited there last month – all of these photos are exterior shots because the interior of the home was very dark and flash photography was not allowed = my interior shots are hopeless.
First, FDR and Eleanor
P1020981
Springwood as it was when FDR was young
P1030044
In 1915, FDR and Eleanor added 18 rooms to accommodate their family, which meant adding a third floor
P1020985
and a wing on either end
P1030041

P1030040
one of which housed this enclosed patio
P1030039
The bell, shown in the picture of the wing housing FDR’s office above, was from the Spanish-American war
P1030043
and a view across the Hudson River
P1030037

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Share Your World – 2014 Week 45

  1. Heather says:

    You are not kidding about the speed of this year! It’s November? Seriously?
    In other news, I just read a cool thing about color, and apparently blue is a favorite among humans in general. Speculation is that blue skies and water represented good things to early humans.
    We see a ton of teal blue up here on houses – which I love, but am not sure about it for a house color – but I think it’s fitting because it mirrors the lake colors so well.

    Like

  2. Dear Carol,
    I love this post. Especially when you said, “I am looking forward to getting up each morning of the coming week, knowing my world is enough.” You are so good with words, and you have so many good things to say with them.
    Warmly,
    Naomi

    Like

  3. I’m with you on the blue family, blues and purples especially. I love green but it doesn’t look good on me! I love that second quote by Mark Twain. Now that I’ve lived with over a week of rain and cold, I’m missing blue skies and the heat of Oman! Nice tour of the FDR place! 😍

    Like

  4. Carol — I loved the Mark Twain quote you shared. Here’s one in return. Enjoy!

    “There are two important days in a woman’s life: the day she is born and the day she finds out why.” — Terry Tempest Williams, from her book “When Women Were Birds”

    Like

  5. Robin says:

    I enjoyed the tour, and your answers. Looks like we are thinking along the same lines when it comes to the studio and the nook. 🙂

    Like

  6. Cee Neuner says:

    I agree with you, where has this year gone. It simply flew by. Thanks so much for taking part in SYW this week. I really enjoyed reading your responses.

    Like

  7. Lisa says:

    You have a wonderful attitude. You can’t depend on your eyes when your imagination is out of focus. is one of my favorite Twain quotes. I need to remember it more often. xo

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

