Share Your World – 2014 Week 38

It’s official – I need more hours in my days. Yet I cannot tell you where my days go, so perhaps I do not deserve more hours. But we’ll discuss that later – right now it’s time to answer Cee’s Challenge.

1. If you could be a tree or plant, what would you be? Perhaps a mighty oak. Or maybe a weeping willow – not because it weeps, but because it is such a welcoming, gentle tree. A tree that provides a safe quiet place in which to ponder thoughts, take a nap, escape from the heat. Yes, I think it would be the weeping willow.

2. If you could have a servant come to your house every day for one hour, what would you have them do? Corner cleaning. You know, those jobs that I never seem to get to, or if I do they feel like such a pain, such a chore. Cleaning the refrigerator, cleaning the shelves in those cabinets that have glass doors but still allow dust in and have so many little mementos in them that they’re time-consuming to clean. Dusting the book shelves. The tedious jobs that take more time than I wish to give. Dusting my bedroom furniture – something I put off but do not know why exactly.

3. If you could have an endless supply of any food, what would you get? That would depend upon my mood, the day, the weather. Maybe melon – cantaloupe or honeydew melons of different varieties. Or chunky hot soups for cold days. Or spicy hummus and sea salt whole grain taco chips for nibbling while watching TV.

4. What was one of your first moneymaking jobs (other than babysitting or newspaper delivery)? Stocking shelves in a drugstore when I was around 12. That didn’t last long. Seemed like a good idea at the time, but turned out not to be. In high school I worked as both a concession stand attendant and ticket seller at the local theater. That’s where I met my first husband.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, I am grateful for the opportunity to prepare a meal for good friends when The Gracious One was down with a bad back. They do so much for me, it was satisfying to be the one giving for a change.

and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am looking forward to time on my front deck in these late afternoons of fall and to preparing for my trip back to the mid-Hudson valley of New York to visit a very dear friend. I am also looking to an evening at the local playhouse with The Artistic One listening to the songs sung by Bucky Covington.

Today I want to share with you the late bloomers in my yard, preceded by the morning light shining on an Aspen tree.
P1020747
P1020767

P1020749

P1020748

I wish for all of you a week filled with enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Share Your World – 2014 Week 38

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    I want your backyard….but your winter’s are much more harsh than mine. Glad you had the time this week….and so early in the week too! šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Carol – I love the crisp, vivid photographs in your post today; they practically jump out of my laptop screen. And I thoroughly enjoyed reading your thoughts on Willow trees: “… a welcoming, gentle tree.”

    Like

  3. Your response to how you would be a tree sounds like the children’s classic, and probably what I would have said as well. Hopefully your trip to the Catskills is timed for leaf peeping. October is a beautiful time there. I know we can count on seeing some photos!

    Like

  4. Heather says:

    I know you’re off traveling now, so I’ll be brief. Great idea with the willow. I’d have a tough time choosing between a larch, a willow, or a color-changing maple.
    I’d hate to pick a single food to eat forever. What a way to ruin a favorite. Have fun in New England šŸ™‚

    Like

  5. You’re really tempting me with that hummus and sea salt whole grain taco chips! I’m suddenly very hungry. šŸ™‚ Weeping willows never seem like sad or “weeping” trees to me. I love to watch them swaying in a breeze; it makes me feel light and serene. They should be called whimsical willows. I think I’d be a weeping willow too. šŸ™‚

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

