Share Your World – 2014 Week 35

While the rest of our neighborhood heads off to a barbecue featuring a jazz group, I have opted to stay home for a quiet “me” day, where I do only what I feel like doing. One of the things I feel like doing today is to play along with Cee, sharing my world as I see it at this moment. Because, you know, my world-view changes from time to time.

1. Have your blogging goals changed? Yes, I think they have. They’ve broadened, perhaps. I started blogging only to share trips husband and I took with family and friends – so much easier than individual emails to let them all know what we were doing. I continued blogging at Kat’s coaxing, and it has become a way for me to reach out to my bloggy friends, to share what’s going on now, what I’m feeling now, what I’m seeing now. It has become an outlet.

2. If you were to perform in the circus, what would you do? Maybe, like Cee, a trapeze performer. The anti-thesis of what I am in real life – something that demonstrates gracefulness and daring. Sitting here considering this question, I realize it’s been so many years since I’ve been to a circus, I’m not even sure what acts there are in circuses now. I would not be a clown – I think clowns are intrinsically sad, and I don’t want to be that.

3. If you could go back and talk to yourself at age 18 what advice would you give yourself? Or if you are younger than 25 what words of wisdom would you like to tell yourself at age 45? I think I would tell myself to be patient, to find my way in life before I looked for someone to share that life with. To explore myself, learn what I wanted to be when I grew up and then act to get there. I would tell myself that life goes too fast, to savor every moment.

4. What is your favorite comfort snack food? Another of those things that changes from day to day. However, any day one of my favorite comfort foods would involve chocolate. Currently, my favorite snack foods for those evenings in front of TV or with a book in my lap (on the iPad, of course) are either popcorn, popped fresh in the air popper, topped with sea salt and melted coconut oil. Or hummus with whole grain taco chips with sea salt. Apparently I’m on a sea salt kick. My favorite after lunch or dinner I-need-something-sweet-but-easy food is a couple Oreos. Or maybe three.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for a week of exploring new interests and for the night Lily cat finally decided she could spend the night inside, so I slept sandwiched between Shasta on one side and Lily on the other.
In the week coming up, I am looking forward to evenings on my deck, my safe harbor, and exploring the emotions that seem to be rolling around inside my brain.

And now, a few pictures of one of the views through my window one morning this past week.

Who dat looking at me?
P1020708

Can’t a fella just eat in peace? Where is the privacy?
P1020710

P1020711

I wish you all a week filled with enough!

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Share Your World – 2014 Week 35

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    I like your “savor every moment”. That is so true.. When we are younger life seems to be so urgent. It really isn’t. I adore your photos as always.

    Oh have you ever tried volcanic salt. It is black and is better than sea salt. Although when you cook with it, it does turn white (or clear) like any other salt.

    Like

  2. Joanne says:

    I really must get back into blogging! Perhaps answering Cee’s qustions would be a great place to begin, as I always love to read your answers to her questions, Carol. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. “…a couple Oreos. Or maybe three.”

    yes, Yes, YES! πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Heather says:

    Like you, I started blogging to keep up with “everyone” after we moved to Michigan. I’m not sure why this move, as it wasn’t the first or longest away from family and friends, but Michigan it was. I had other goals along the way. Now I just do it to share – with whoever wants to join along for the ride. Glad to have you along, and be along for yours. Look out – here comes that trapeze bar!

    Like

  5. Robin says:

    I’m a YES! on the Oreos, too. Looks like a few of us started blogging for similar reasons, and continued on for similar reasons. I love your advice to your younger self. It’s good advice at any age as long as there is still time to explore. πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. pattisj says:

    A quiet “me” day is so refreshing. Wise advice to an 18-year-old self. Mmm, I love popcorn, too. Nice shot of your feathered friend.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Share Your World 2014 – Week 35 | Katharine Marie

  8. lisa says:

    I can relate to #1 and #3. And chocolate, for sure! A *quiet* day? I know not of what you speak. πŸ™‚ Perhaps I can come sit on your deck for a while?

    Like

  9. Karma says:

    Love the “who dat” shot.
    Your advice to your younger self is right on. Tried making this known to my daughters who are at this age themselves, but as we all know, it seems we must find these things out for ourselves for them to have any real meaning.
    I’m quite curious about trying your popcorn and coconut oil recipe, but I don’t have an air popper. I wonder if I could have a similar taste doing it on the stove with the melted oil in the pot?

    Like

  10. Kathy says:

    I am really glad that you decided to continue blogging, Carol. Thank goodness Kat urged you on. It’s interesting how things change over time, isn’t it? Like Karma I’m now curious about trying that coconut oil popcorn. Mmmmm…..have you made some with cinnamon & sugar on top of it? πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. Stacy says:

    “Savor every moment” – that’s the advice I would give my 18-year-old self, too, Carol. (And stop obsessing over perfection. Just be.)

    Beautiful photos of the little finch (?). I don’t think he minded your camera too much. xo

    Like

  12. Robin says:

    Hummus, chocolate and tea are three things I have every day. Savor every moment is good advice for everyone at any age πŸ™‚

    Like

  13. I love your advice to your 18-year-old self, Carol. I try to tell my sons and daughters this, but they of course have their own ideas. All those snacks with sea salt sound really delicious. I guess I have to wait till I return home from China to experience some of those snacks. Every salty snack here seems to have a bit of sweetness thrown in; I found that in Korea too. If I want salt, I want salt, not sugar!! Love your bird peeping Tom. πŸ™‚

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

