On The Edge

A day or two or more ago, Ailsapm issued a challenge called On The Edge. I saved the email, thinking I would participate, thinking about what my choices would be. This evening as I sat on my front deck, my private space for letting my mind wander as I enjoy a glass of spirits – beer, wine, tea, whatever the mood might dictate – my mind started wandering and it found its way to edges.

I thought how often we are on the edge – of eternity, of discovering something new, of feeling lost, of finding our selves, of finding our joys, of adventure. How often I am on the edge of actually accomplishing some of those things on my list. Of letting my self find its way without my feeling that I need to control that way. Of feeling sadness, but yet peace. Of feeling aloneness, not in a bad way, and feeling togetherness with my friends. Of feeling my way into the future. Of feeling.

But this is a photo challenge, so I found my may to the computer and, after some discussion with my software program about exactly what I wanted and how it was what I want not what it thinks I want (damnation to software that decides to wield its power over we simple humans) that counts, I have selected some pictures that say “edge” to me.

There is the edge of the earth
P1000851

The edge of the roof
P1020082

the edge of darkness
P1010880

perching on the edge of the rock
P1010865

and peering over the edge of the cliff.
P1010815

What are your edges?

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to On The Edge

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Your edges are marvelous. makes me miss the beach! 🙂

    Like

  2. Sue Slaght says:

    A great variety of edges. I am smiling at how the birds have ‘painted’ the rocks. 🙂

    Like

  3. some of the best pictures ive ever seen…. very very refreshing

    Like

  4. Carol, this is a wonderful, thoughtful and thought-provoking response to this theme–cutting edge!

    Like

  5. Hillechien Prins says:

    I like your edges

    Like

  6. Kamila Pala says:

    Great set of photos! 🙂 Have a nice summer. Kamila

    Like

  7. Beautiful photos and perfect for the challenge! 🙂

    Like

  8. Kathy says:

    Great post, Carol. I could ponder “on the edge” for a whole blog, too. It’s an interesting (and often scary) place to be. We’re no longer always feeling in the safety of our comfort zone. The photos you used to respond visually describe it well.

    Like

  9. Karma says:

    Your edge photos are really beautiful. Great shots for illustrating your feelings about edges. I sometimes feel like I’m living on the edge, and could teeter off at any moment!

    Like

  10. Carol – I always enjoy your photography. The photos you selected for EDGES are Spot On!

    I love when you said, “Of letting my self find its way without my feeling that I need to control that way.” That statement resonated right down to my toes.

    Like

  11. Pingback: travel theme: edge | my sweetpainteddreams

  12. Heather says:

    You chose terrific photos, but your discussion of “edge” really struck me. Being on the edge is a tough place to be, and it can be a real struggle just to let things happen. Sometimes I try really hard to be the software controlling myself as a simple human – other times I do better.

    Like

  13. lolaWi says:

    Beautiful gallery of the theme! Gorgeous pictures!

    Like

  14. lisa says:

    That sounds like a fantastic challenge and I love the shots you chose to represent it. Your interpretations of *edge* were really creative and I do really relate to your observations in the second paragraph. Nicely done! xo

    Like

  15. Perfect edges for the challenge, Carol. I like the idea of being on the edge of self-discovery, on the edge of adventure. That first picture, the edge of the earth, is my favorite. 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

