Share Your World – 2014 Week 34

Getting back into the groove of life here – and ready to join Cee in her Share Your World Challenge.

1. What is your favorite smell? What memory does it remind you of? Outside smells – fresh-mown grass, lilacs – both remind me of carefree, happy days as a kid, but I cannot tell you why. I think those were springtime neighborhood smells. Inside – freshly baked bread – when I was in high school my girlfriend’s mother baked yeast rolls often and we would come home from school and walk into her house to that heavenly aroma. Then we would sit down and enjoy one of those hot rolls slathered with butter. Priceless!

2. Name a song or two which are included on the soundtrack to your life? “Once, Twice, Three Times a Lady” – is that the proper name of that song? I do not remember titles to songs, or books or movies. Anyway, that song was dedicated to me by a former love at one time. The idea of being considered a lady enthralled me, although I was never a lady in the terms of a southern belle-type lady.

3. Do you play video/computer game? Which one(s) or most recent? Much to my dismay, yes I do. I spend time on the iPad playing these stupid games, time that could be much better utilized in other ways. Reading, perhaps. Currently I seem to be attached to break the bubble games – a couple different versions of Bubble Witch and Bubble Mania. Hopefully this too shall pass.

4. Which of Snow White’s 7 dwarfs describes you best? Plus what would the 8th dwarf’s name be? (Doc, Happy, Bashful, Sleepy, Sneezy, Grumpy, Dopey) Hmmm – I don’t know. Sometimes Happy, sometimes Sleepy, sometimes Grumpy – occasionally Dopey. I am many dwarfs wrapped into one body – which explains why I am a tall dwarf. The 8th dwarf? Nosey? Silly?

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for a dinner out with friends. I am grateful for emails from my Kat (Gep, are you listening?). I am grateful for a day out with the Artistic One seeking, and finding, photo ops. I am looking forward to more time with friends, nights of restful sleep, the feeling of fall in the air.

That photo op day? Here are some of the rewards of that day:
The Natural Bridge
P1020651

The river goes in here
P1020652

Comes out here
P1020649

And rushes down here
P1020663

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Share Your World – 2014 Week 34

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Hi Carol, always a joy to read your answers. I was the queen of making homemade bread once upon a time. I do love the smell of it. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. Carol – I think following the antics of the 8th dwarf — Nosey — would be hysterical (sort of like Mrs. Kravitz on Bewitched)…

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    Do you think everyone’s favorite smell is fresh-baked bread, or are we all taught that it smells heavenly? That was what first popped into my head, but really I probably prefer the smell of cinnamon rolls. Not much different, I suppose.
    Liking your explanation for being the tall dwarf. Wish I were tall so I could appropriate the response 😉

    Like

  4. lisa says:

    Thanks for including a few more pics from your recent outing. Cee’s questions really make a person stop and think….and sometimes thinking hurts! 🙂 Favorite smell? Might very well be fresh baked bread!

    Like

  5. Karma says:

    Love your answers to Cee’s questions. I should do a Cee post again soon. So nice to have a photo-op seeking friend!

    Like

  6. Kathy says:

    Freshly baked bread is the best! I remember going over to Switzerland at age 18 and first enjoying home-baked bread. Gained 5 pounds and thought I was fat at 123 pounds. Can you imagine? It’s always interesting to read responses to Cee’s challenge.

    Like

  7. The smell of fresh baked bread! Yes. 🙂 How special to have a song dedicated to you by an old love. I never had a song dedicated to me!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

