A Sunday Roadtrip

Yesterday The Artistic One and I decided to ignore chores and duties and hop into the car for a one-day adventure. We headed north, then west, then south in search of photo ops. Our first stop was the Rogue Gorge near Union Creek, where we wandered up the path to see what we could see. What we saw was interesting lichen on a tree
P1020629

the Rogue River dashing over rocks into pools below, creating little waterfalls
P1020646

what we first thought might be fairy hair, but after touching it and discovering its rough texture decided it was the beard of either an elf or a troll
P1020655

a fern (or holly?) growing from a small space in a rock – an unlikely home, we thought.
P1020650

The Rogue continuing it’s path over the rocks, letting nothing deter its movement forward.
P1020634

A plant bearing a tiny red berry
P1020644

and an Oregon Grape Holly with its berries of blue
P1020645

a fallen log raising the hair of the river.
P1020633

Then, straight out of history and fiction, the bee who heeded the words of the spider as she asked “Will you walk into my parlor?” (Mary Howitt), much to the dismay of the bee.
P1020639

And so out day began and continued – which I will share on another day.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Sunday Roadtrip

  1. Joanne says:

    These photos are far more interesting than chores, Carol! You found such interesting subjects, but oh, the poor bee! That’s the circle of life though. And I’m pleased to hear you didn’t bump into the troll, or elf; he may have been grumpy at losing his whiskers. šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. suzicate says:

    Love your nature photos!

    Like

  3. pattisj says:

    Any day when duties and chores are ignored is a good day in my book!

    Like

  4. Carol – You made me laugh with your deduction that rather than faerie hair, it must have been the beard of either an elf or a troll! šŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    What a gorgeous river! Looks good for a picnic.
    And I’m right there with Laurie, enjoying your faerie hair vs beard consideration šŸ™‚

    Like

  6. You caught some fantastic splashes! Please tell me that was from your Canon not your ipad. Lately I have been getting too lazy to carry the extra baggage around, but catching some photo ops makes it worth the effort. And I agree with Joanne, it is much better use of time than chores.

    Like

  7. lisa says:

    Oh my! To ditch the daily duties and go looking for photo opps sounds delightful! And you found some real treasures! Sounds like a fantastic day!

    Like

  8. Looks like a lovely escape. The Rogue River waterfalls are fabulous. Can’t wait to hear about the rest of your adventure. šŸ™‚

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

