Share Your World – 2014 Week 33

It has been several weeks since I’ve taken the time to play along with Cee, so this week I promised myself I would get back in the groove. Sometimes I think life has too many grooves into which we must fit ourselves, don’t you?

1. Do you believe in ghosts? Yes and no. I don’t believe in Casper the Ghost type ghosts, but I do believe that a person’s spirit can remain behind sometimes. In a house I lived in in the mid-Hudson Valley of New York several years ago, I would hear cupboard doors downstairs opening and closing quite often at night. When we bought a square piano for our living room, sometimes our “ghost” would play a little music at night. Many years later, when our too-young grandson had died of cancer and a few days later our cat died, the musical night light that I used to put in grandson’s crib when he stayed with us suddenly started playing in the wee hours of the night. I believe that was our grandson telling us he and the cat were together.

2. Irregardless of your physical fitness, coordination or agility: If you could play any sport professionally what would it be? Or if you canโ€™t picture yourself playing sports, what is your favorite sport? I think that would have to be swimming or archery. I view myself at less than optimally coordinated and balls and I have a habit of unfortunate contact, but I love swimming and would have loved to practice archery more than the bit I got in phys ed in school.

3. Do you prefer long hair or short hair for yourself? Definitely short. Although since chemo I don’t have a lot of choice, even if I had hair like I used to it was and would be short.

4. If you were on an small island, who would you want to be with? And where is it? How big is it? Ohhh – I would want to be with my kids, and can I take my neighborhood with me too? I think an island off the Pacific Coast – the Caribbean is nice, but so humid.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for sunny days and blue skies. I am grateful for cuddles with my cat and dogs. I am grateful for an easy day in our bigger town down the road yesterday. I am looking forward to getting some yard work done outside during this coming week – oh wait! that week is almost over already – so I’m looking forward to getting some yard work done during the next couple of days. And maybe a little road trip on Sunday.

And now, because a blog isn’t a blog (for me) without some photos:

P1020431

P1020435

P1020517

P1020591

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Share Your World – 2014 Week 33

  1. Dear Carol,
    I found your ghost story quietly comforting. I love the picture of you and your kids and your neighborhood moving to a cozy Pacific Island.

    Like

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    Your island wouldn’t be humid at all. It would be just perfect for you ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing. Love your photos too.

    Like

  3. Robin says:

    I, too, found your ghost story comforting. Your photos are beautiful, as always, and I enjoyed your answers to Cee’s questions, as always. It’s been a while since I played along. Perhaps next week. I agree with you about all the grooves. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. Carol – Having personally experienced “things that go bump in the night,” it’s always nice to know that other people have walked a mile in the same thought-provoking shoes. Like you, it’s always been a gentle experience โ€” comforting even.

    As always, your photographs are exquisite.

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    I’m undecided on ghosts. But I completely agree with you about your island location. Of course, I’d have to bring an entirely different set of friends/family ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  6. Karma says:

    Love the flower photos here. So pretty!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

