A Trip to the Dark Side – and Out Again

Awhile back, the Artistic One suggested we get small butterfly tattoos on our ankles. We talked about it, we giggled about it (there is no age limit for giggling), we talked some more, we decided to wait until Kat – who is experienced in this area – arrived. She came, we talked, Gep protested, we talked some more, we waited until he left, we made appointments. We giggled. So on Tuesday we took a turn off our main course, we jumped out of our boxes, and off we went.
20140805_151832

I went first. Kat held my hand, talked to me, and manned the phone camera.
20140805_151845

I had opted for a dragonfly – not a butterfly, because the dragonfly called my name. I gritted my teeth and manned up to get through it. I like the result, although I think I will not travel this road again. My result:
20140805_152356

Kat’s result:
20140807_095637

The Artistic One got a pretty blue butterfly, of which I do not have a photo. Yet. We all agree our tattoos came out a bit larger than we had planned, but it is done and we accept it.

Wednesday found Kat and I back in town, first to take advantage of the summer sale at Walmart. I found comfy soft knit pants for wearing at home when the days grow a bit cooler and a nightgown that is soooo soft and comfy I must go back to see if I can get another. Kat purchased items not readily found in Korea and now has both suitcases stuffed so full shopping must end. After we had shopped to our hearts’ content, we had a quick lunch and headed uptown for our beading class.
20140806_154029

In a three-hour class, we each created a bracelet, Kat’s in greens and mine in purples
20140807_094555

and loved what we did so much we bought more beads. The upper row is mine, the lower row belongs to Kat.
20140807_094746

And so our trip to the dark side was just enough, and our trip out again was perhaps a bit more than enough. Do you see gifts for friends on the horizon?

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A Trip to the Dark Side – and Out Again

  1. Dear Carol,
    What an adventure! Best post yet!!! I love your dragonfly, you wild and crazy woman! And the bracelet is beautiful. I spent several years beading with my kids-we funded a trip to England with the scouts on proceeds of all those beading projects. But then the kids got busy and left home and I haven’t gotten back to it. I think this winter holiday I will sort the my beads and bring them upstairs and invite my girlfriends over to make holiday gifts for themselves and their friends. I even have a case of gold jewelry boxes to wrap them up in. Thank you for the inspiration. They haven’t made the tattoo yet that I’ve been willing to sit still for, but I’m waiting for my inspiration there too–I’ll know it when I see it.

    Like

  2. lizard100 says:

    Well done. Tattoos are curious things. I think it’s impressive!

    Like

  3. suzicate says:

    Love those bracelets!

    Like

  4. I can’t believe you got a tattoo! Brave girl!! I love it! I’ve always secretly wanted a small one in a hidden place, but never had the nerve to do it. Wow, those bracelets look very complex. You’re so talented. I love them! I used to make jewelry, but I’m so far out of it now, I’d have to start the learning process all over again. Sounds like fun times all around! When does Kat go back to Korea? And I may have to go check out those soft pajamas. I’m always a sucker for those! 🙂

    Like

  5. I’ve got a gecko tattooed on the inside of my ankle. Smaller than yours. but I love it. A sign of our free spirits?

    Like

  6. Carol says:

    I think so, Helen. Free spirit mixed with a sense of adventure maybe.

    Like

  7. Karma says:

    Wow a tattoo! I’ve always had a fascination with tattoos but never the guts to go get one! Very cool. Maybe I should get a little hummingbird – then I wouldn’t feel bad when I fail to capture their photos. 🙂 I think the bracelets are beautiful – nice work! When can we start placing our orders? 😉

    Like

  8. Wow, I thought getting a double piercing with my daughter would be cool, but this is way beyond. I have secretly thought about a tattoo in an inconspicuous place…maybe when I am in my 50 s and a more solid relationship with my daughter… enjoy the last few days with her, you are so lucky to have her as a friend. Maybe you will find some time to travel in her direction.

    Like

  9. Kathy says:

    Carol, I am really really impressed that you did this. You are an inspiration to all of us. Not necessarily about getting a tattoo–but for doing something wild and different and giggling about it. Hats off to you!

    Like

  10. Chris Donner says:

    Love the bracelets. Don’t know that I’d be ready to try the body art, though. I like the idea of doing something wild. Good on you!

    Like

  11. Dawn says:

    Everybody’s wild and crazy is different. You are inspirational.

    Like

  12. lisa says:

    I’ll definitely pass on the ink, but love the bracelets! Happy you had fun walking on the wild side. 🙂

    Like

  13. Carol — I have one (and only one) oh-so-small tattoo over my left ankle bone. It’s a reminder that life is about FLOW (sometimes WITH, sometimes AGAINST, the current).

    I love, Love, LOVE your dragonfly!

    Some people find getting tattoos addictive. Like you, I’m love mine and I’m glad I have it, but “I think I will not travel this road again.”

    Like

  14. Heather says:

    OhMyGosh!! I am giddy that you got a tattoo. I don’t have any, and have no plans for any, but I LOVE your spontaneity. Now, let me ask you a serious question: how do you think you’ll feel about it when you’re older? Hahahaha 😉
    Glad you enjoyed time with Kat. I’m also impressed with your beadwork. Perhaps more impressed with the trove you brought home!

    Like

  15. The bracelets are beautiful, congrats on your artistic expression. The tattoos are cute but I am always wondering about how that ink injected under our skin affects our health….

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

