When the Skies Turn Yellow and Heavy, I Blog

Our skies are yellow, the sun is orange – the fires around our part of the state are hiding the blue of the skies and tinting the world to an eerie glow. We are grateful none of them are close enough to threaten us, but they have introduced a heaviness and a poor quality to the air that makes us want to hunker down inside. It is the price we pay for a year that has had little moisture. My response? Sit down at the computer and look at pretty pictures, decide to share some of the pictures and add some words, just to break up the flow of the pictures.

Walking to meet the MAX train in Portland, son – he who is always thinking “photo op” – suggests Kat and I mimic signs with arrows.
2014-07-26 10.24.36

Always ready to follow his muse, we agree
Photo Jul 26, 10 27 18 AM

then we board the train and head once more to the Brew Fest, where a man proclaims to the world his philosophy.
P1020532

Later in the day, we wander the streets in our search for a sit-down dinner and we see bicycles all in a row
P1020581

their owners enjoying libations on the shady side of the street
P1020580

and children watching the Tin Man do what it is that Tin Men do.
Photo Jul 26, 3 17 19 PM

We pass tall buildings,
P1020584

a man playing his Digerido and his partner playing – what? – some kind of electronic instrument I suppose
P1020579

and a little girl eating a snow cone to match her dress, which perfectly compliments her red hair.
P1020578

So ends this tale of part of our day, but there is a little updating to do: For those of you who have been curious about the Mason Jar experiment, I wish to note that fresh berries like strawberries (unwashed until ready to use), blueberries and grapes keep very well in Mason Jars, as do carrots, cauliflower and other veggies. Celery and greens, less well I think. Grains, nuts, pastas, rices, brown sugar – all those things that come in bags that slide around when piled up, stand neatly in place in Mason Jars. They are also great for freezing foods. I consider my experiment a success.

Today, greet your world with a smile and rejoice in having enough. There are too many who cannot do that.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to When the Skies Turn Yellow and Heavy, I Blog

  1. Ruth says:

    Lovely idea mimicking the signs – made me smile, thank you 🙂

    Like

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    These are wonderful photos Carol. I have always wanted to go the Portland Market. Maybe now since I am getting stronger. Loved the Digeridoo photo.

    Like

  3. Kathy says:

    I am smiling how you and Kat agreed to create “street art” for your son. Fun! Hoping the fires don’t turn your way, though. That would not be fun.

    Like

  4. suzicate says:

    Love Gep’s sense of humor and your and Kat’s participation in the sign reenactments.

    Like

  5. Robin says:

    I love your images, Carol, and the way you and Kat mimicked the signs. A job well done. 🙂 I hope the moisture you need to put out the fires arrives soon.

    Like

  6. Ruth says:

    Looks like a very fun time together . I especially like the last pic of the little girl with the snow cone to match her dress. Sweet. And good to know the outcome of the mason jar experiment.

    Like

  7. Carol – I enjoyed all of the photos from your adventure; especially the little red head with the blue snow cone. Facial expression? Priceless!

    Like

  8. lisa says:

    I’m very happy to hear you are not in harm’s way. It’s a very scary situation. You photos of your Portland trip are a great diversion! I love the sign photo with you and Kat! xo

    Like

  9. Karma says:

    The pictures with the signs are adorable! I will do my best to greet my world with a smile and rejoice in having enough today!

    Like

  10. Heather says:

    Glad to have the Mason jar update! Do you keep the berries sealed or in open jars?
    Giggled a little at Gep’s sign inspiration. That first photo would make a great FB profile 😉

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

