These Shoes Are Made for Walking. Or Not.

P1020569
While sitting in a shady spot at the Brewfest we traveled to Portland to visit, I became intrigued by the many shapes and shades of shoes and legs. With a camera hanging around my neck, it seemed logical to document my fascination – so that I could over share with you all at a later date. Today is that later date. Aren’t you excited? Lie, okay? Just say “yes, of course I’m excited.” Or say, to yourself please, “what the heck?” and move on to whatever else you are doing. Because I need to share. Over share. And perhaps whine a bit. Words that will not relate to the photos at all.

P1020568
You know those days where whatever you try to do, it just doesn’t turn out quite the way you’d planned? I’ve been having several of those days lately. First it was my computer that decided to taunt me with “insufficient application memory”. What the heck is application memory? This started some time ago, so when Gep arrived, I complained to him and begged for help. We determined the problem was caused by Safari. Or so it seems, at least. He researched and learned the problem is not unique to me (surprise!) and seemed to come with the last update. My solution? Download a different browser. Of which there are few choices for the iMac. So I have Opera. I’m working on figuring it out.

P1020566
Then I bought a box version of Adobe Lightroom 5, because my internet decided it could not, would not, support a download of that size. The box arrived yesterday. I installed it this morning. But now I have to register and – I cannot find a serial number. Time to chat with Adobe support. Then time to chat with Amazon support. Sigh. Now I have an RMA to return this box and they are shipping another. I hope it has a serial number.

P1020575
You getting the drift?

P1020564
Packaging the serial-number-less box of Lightroom, I was using a packaging tape dispenser. Which grabbed my finger and caused drops of red to emerge. Then I went to cut up strawberries so I could have fruit and yogurt. The knife, having a definite mind of its own, attacked my little finger, causing drops of red to emerge. I think I need to stay out of the kitchen. More accurately, I need to stay away from sharp things. And probably hot things. Kat is using the glue gun in the kitchen and I am forbidden to enter.

P1020552
We went to town yesterday. I managed to successfully get the car washed, gassed and did not have any accidents. Or flat tires. Apparently some things go my way. Kat had a massage that she refers to as “a bit of heaven”. Or something like that. I may have made those words up, but she said it was great. We had lunch. We planned an adventure for next Tuesday afternoon. Something that will probably surprise you. It surprises me, but it’s one of those “why not?” things. We only live once.

P1020551
Shasta says things are not going her way either. She says I’m abusive. It was the day to administer the flea/tick/mosquito repellent stuff, and she is certain the application of that liquid to her body means certain death. I overrode her objections and she is now staying away from me. But she’ll be nice to me come dinner time, so I’m not worried.

P1020547
Lily obviously feels the same way Shasta does. She comes to say hello every couple of days. Hunting must be very good out there. She does not like when people that aren’t here all the time come to visit. She’s certain they’ll be abusive. I think I have neurotic animals.

P1020574
Twiggy has decided that she needs to holler for attention in the wee hours. The 3:00 a.m. wee hours. She dare not come up on my bed unassisted because Shasta is there and Shasta does not welcome other animals on her bed. So Twiggy sits outside the door to my room and yells. And yells. And yells. Until I get up and carry her to bed. Where she insists on being petted. She can do this, because she has hidey places to spend the afternoons while she naps. Uh huh. I think I have neurotic animals.

P1020543
I should probably wash sheets today. But I worry – if I try to wash clothes in washing machine, will it malfunction? How serious is this things-not-going-quite-right thing anyway? Dare I try to do something else?

P1020542
I think now I’ll throw caution to the winds and go try to do something. If I fail, I think I’ll curl up in my chair, cover my head with a blanket and regress. The rest of the photos? They will follow. You may enjoy, or you may click off. Your choice. Whatever you do, I do hope your day is filled with enough. And goes smoothly.

P1020541

P1020539

P1020537

P1020534

P1020533

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to These Shoes Are Made for Walking. Or Not.

  1. Not many stylish shoes in this batch, Carol! They seem to go along with your mishaps. Please stay out of the kitchen, and away from hot and sharp things. Although, I’m still admiring your glass-blowing adventure. You did fine with that VERY hot stuff. All those computer mishaps are a pain; I hate those kinds of mishaps because I never understand what’s going on, nor can I figure out how to fix the problem!

    Like

  2. suzicate says:

    Hope your day has been smooth so far.

    Like

  3. jay53 says:

    I love the photos – someone is wearing Vibrams Five-Fingers! I’d like to try those, myself.

    I’m sorry to hear about all the malfunctions and drops of red. it’s odd how we all have periods like this, isn’t it? I remember a time when ‘biorhythms’ were all the vogue and can’t help wondering if there’s not a grain of truth in that theory!

    Like

  4. Your encounters are in alignment with many of the shoes you photographed ā€” painful! Hopefully you’ll enjoy toes-in-the-warm-sand type days again soon. Real soon!

    Like

  5. Karma says:

    Oh those types of days are just the worst. Why is it that everything has to attack at once instead of spreading themselves out a little more? I suppose days like these are the ones that allow us to enjoy the good ones even more – at least I try to tell myself that when it happens to me, although I don’t always listen to myself! šŸ˜‰

    Like

  6. Robin says:

    You caught someone wearing Vibrams! (The funny toes shoes.) I don’t see them often (except on my own feet). I enjoyed your collection of shoes. I hope things start going better for you. I have weeks like that, too. I don’t know why life throws all that stuff together in clumps. Maybe they’re some kind of wake-up call. Or just an odd coincidence. šŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Kathy says:

    This is the third time I’ve coming visiting this blog post of yours. Enjoyed this unique shoe-filled view of the world. Yes, it’s a truism that things seem to happen all at once and then sometimes there’s a long calm spell. Hoping that you get your long calm spell soon.

    Like

  8. Heather says:

    So many shoes! I’d stick to my running shoes, which seems to be just about all I wear these days. With my obligatory orthopedic insoles.
    Sounds like you’ve had a string of No Good, Very Bad moments. Considering how things went with all the sharp objects, I’m a bit surprised you went ahead with your tattoo šŸ˜‰

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

