Share Your World – 2014 Week 25

Time to share, one more time! Check Cee’s blog out, there’s a lot there to see.

1. What is your favorite type of dog? (can be anything from a specific breed, a stuffed animal, drawing, cartoon or character in a movie or TV show) One with 4 legs and a furry body. For a long time, I’ve leaned towards labs, which is what I have now. As I grow older, however, I think if I were to get another dog, it might be a smaller breed. One that sheds less than labs do.

2. Name one thing not many people know about you. Is there anything everyone doesn’t know about me, especially since I’ve started this blogging thing? Did you know I used to paint with oils? Landscapes were my thing. I did one seascape that I thought turned out pretty nicely. I haven’t done that for many years, although I did buy some tubes of acrylic a couple of months ago, and an easel, thinking I might try that. Maybe in the winter, when the outside doesn’t call my name.

3. Have you ever gone scuba diving? If you haven’t, would you want to? I haven’t, but I’d like to, someday, in warm Caribbean waters perhaps.

4. What was the most important event in your life last week? (anything goes it can be a good nights sleep, finished a reading book,winning the lottery, or getting married) My life is really not very eventful – but last week? It would be having both of my kids on US soil again for the summer. And knowing that it would not be long before they would be here with me for awhile.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Repeat #4 above. And for a day spent with friends near a river – more on that another time. For the coming week – this week that we are in now – I am looking forward to a rainy day spent inside doing the things I want to do. No chores, no obligations. A day of my choice.

And today’s photos, just because I can. First, another peony, this one called Sorbet

P1020227

my Chinese Fringe Tree blooms

P1020229

Light shining through the Cyclamen

P1020238

The squirrel is back

P1020231

P1020230

and a Scrub Jay visits

P1020246

That’s all for now, folks! Have a day filled with enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Share Your World – 2014 Week 25

  1. Carol — I had no idea you’d painted with oils. I’m looking forward to winter when you’ll dive back into that again and perhaps share a bit of it with your readers. I always enjoy your photos — the one that really jumped off the page for me today is “Light shining through the Cyclamen.”

    Like

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    I always love your photography, they are so fun and playful. Don’t get a pug if you want less hair, they only have one shedding season …. its called daily. 🙂 Thanks Carol.

    Like

  3. Hi Carol,
    Beautiful shots. I am so happy to hear that you will soon have a visit from your kids! We tried painting with acrylics this last week when visiting my sister, and I wasn’t very good, but the kids were, and it was FUN. I hope you blog about painting when you get to it.

    Like

  4. Lisa says:

    Ooooo, the lighting in the cyclamen shot is lovely!! And I’m so happy the kids are coming to see you soon. Dogs? I lean towards the big ones…Goldens are favorites, but they shed like crazy. Maybe a Dane next time? And I took a scuba diving lesson in a dive tank once. Does that count? No, I didn’t think so. 🙂 xo

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Goldenseal are great dogs. I had a Dane many years ago. He was a big baby. It wasn’t safe to leave a glass of wine on a coffee table with him, he was such a lush.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

  5. Joanne says:

    I really should join in with Cee’s Share Your World again Carol, but I always love to read your answers! Last Thursday, I had a string of three very happy phone calls, all good news, and from close female family members. My sister (who is twelve years older than me) now has a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, named Lucy, and I thought I’d mention it as you said you have thought of having a smaller breed of dog one day. Vivi has told me that Lucy is a very sweet natured girl and lovely company. 🙂

    Like

  6. Wonderful photos! With an eye like that, I’m not surprised you painted – and will again, we hope!

    Like

  7. pattisj says:

    The squirrel looks quite happy to have found a treat. I’m glad you plan to get back to painting. I hope you’ll share it with us. The outdoors does beckon this time of year. I’m pretty sure I hear weeds growing. I like your idea of a rainy day and using it to do something fun.

    Like

  8. Karma says:

    Your answers to Cee’s questions are always a fun post to read. I enjoy seeing your pictures of birds – you have many varieties that we don’t have on this side of the continent. Lots of blue jays here, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen a scrub jay.

    Like

  9. Heather says:

    I tend to favor medium to large dogs. We were aiming for a dog around 30 pounds when we brought Petey home. He’s around 70 now, and does not understand what we’re asking when we try to get him to jump in the car. He’s a lug to lift, I’ll tell you!
    SCUBA is a great pleasure. If you get a chance to include a guided dive on a cruise sometime, I think you should. They offer some almost-SCUBA adventures too that don’t require a long certification process.
    Very happy your kids’ travels have so far been safe, and even happier for you that you’ll soon be together.

    Like

  10. Angelia Sims says:

    I’m with ya on the labs! My 12-year old lab has tufts of hair everywhere. It is exhausting. I like the hair on shih-tzus but they have to be groomed. SO. Maybe a poodle? I hope you do paint again. I would love to see. Your peony is gorgeous! Looks like everyone is happy to see summer. Happy for you and your plans with the kiddos. Enjoy!

    Like

  11. Kathy says:

    Are your kids with you now? How wonderful that they are both going to be visiting. We saw both kids at my dad’s birthday party last week and our daughter came home with us for a more extended vacation. Having lots of fun with her around. Enjoy your visits!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

