The Invasion of the Mason Jars

P1020239

They’re everywhere! On the island, in a lower cabinet, in an upper cabinet

P1020240

In a china cupboard, converted to pantry storage, where they contain grains, beans, seeds

P1020241

in an upper pantry shelf, where they contain nuts, flour, sweetener

P1020242

In the refrigerator crisper drawer, where they contain broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, celery, bok choy, brussel sprouts and kale.

P1020243

They’ve spread into other parts of the refrigerator, where they contain strawberries, beets, applesauce and homemade dog food.

P1020244

All of this because I saw a blurb in a magazine about “salad in a jar”, then a friend and I were talking to a friend of that friend (you’re following this, right?) and she was saying she keeps a lot of her fresh produce in jars in the refrigerator and it seems to last longer. Lasting longer is a good thing, what with a 30 mile trip one way to go to the grocery store where I live. Worth a shot, I thought! But, woe is me, I need mason jars. Then, I need more mason jars. Good grief, now I need cupboard space! Out with the glassware bought many many years ago in discount stores because I liked the shapes and colors, but never used because they had stems that were too long to fit in the dishwasher. In with the jars of – food items. Lots of food items. Those food items purchased so that I could prepare healthier meals, meals designed to balance my body’s PH.

And my dogs’ PH. So now I’m feeding my dogs only a small portion of commercial dry dog food with some commercial canned dog food for breakfast, that small portion of dry food with some home made dog food for dinner. Home made dog food that contains lots and lots of chopped veggies of different kinds, old-fashioned rolled oats and small amounts of meats of various kinds, depending on what I feel like using in the batch I’m making at that moment. I prepare a large batch, put it into (you guessed it!) mason jars, refrigerate what I’ll use in the next 3 or 4 days and freeze the rest.

Which led to deciding to make healthy dog treats. Which led to “hmmmm, that seed cake I buy for the birds costs me $8 in the store – there has to be a recipe available to make my own for much less”. Yes, there is. There are. Several of them.

I’m spending much of my life in the kitchen. It’s never been my favorite room, but guess what? I’m actually enjoying this.

Take my temperature. I must be ill. It’s probably fatal.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Invasion of the Mason Jars

  1. Heather says:

    On the upside, the mason jars look beautiful.
    I’d like to hear an update to see how you think your produce is faring. We don’t have a short drive to fresh produce either.

    Like

  2. suzicate says:

    There’s nothing quite like a Mason jar. I have a case of large blue ones that belonged to my father. I am considering tossing out my canisters and using them instead.

    Like

  3. Carol – I think we were cut from the same bolt of cloth, and then separated at birth. Those photographs could easily have been taken our kitchen (except for your cupboards are neater).

    We don’t currently make our dog’s food or seed cake — but you definitely stirred the muddy waters…

    Like

  4. Joanne says:

    It seems to me to be a great idea Carol, considering you live so far from the stores. If you find that you continue enjoying the kitchen time, and want to stock up for winter, you could look up recipes for preserving food, (stored in the Mason jars, of course!) for use during the winter months! Just think, even less trips to the store. I think you are onto something. 🙂

    Like

  5. Karma says:

    Wow, that is a lot of Mason jars! Glad you are enjoying your time in the kitchen. I’ve never considered myself much of a “foodie” but I do feel rather proud of myself when I make a great meal – and then I don’t mind my time in the kitchen at all.

    Like

  6. Lisa says:

    Oh my, I applaud you for taking on the task of homemade dog food and treats! That sounds like a major undertaking. We’re gearing up to make baby food at our house. My mason jars are all hordes away, waiting for the veggie garden to take off.

    Like

  7. I’ve always used Mason jars to preserve things (jams, sauces, pickles and salsas) I have in much excess in my garden. I have never thought about keeping things fresh in them. Keep us posted on how it works out. How do the dogs like their homemade goodies? I hope they appreciate all the tlc you put into it.

    Like

    • Carol says:

      So far it seems the celery is staying much crisper. Have grapes in jars now, so the end of the week will tell me more. The dogs appear to love their homemade food, and I think – I hope – that chubby Shasta is showing signs of a waistline.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

