Share Your World – 2014 Week 23

Cee posted her weekly questions on Monday, as usual and I am now going to attempt to answer them, as usual. Most of the time, as usual, that is. Now and then, I miss a week, usually on a week when I haven’t the brain power to produce words.

1. Would your rather be stuck in a small plane with mild turbulence for 2 hours or be a passenger in a car racing the Daytona 500? I have to take the small plane here. I would simply have a heart attack if I were a passenger in a Daytona 500 car racing around that track at those speeds in that heavy traffic.

2. Would you rather be alone with nobody in the vicinity for one month or never be alone not even for a minute for one month? Hmmm – I gather from Cee’s response that my furry girls would not be with me. That would be tough – but then again, having not even one minute alone for an entire month would be tougher, I think. Time to myself is critical to my well-being, so I would miss my girls and my friends, but . . . I would have my electronic devices and internet access, right? So we could still communicate. At least with my family and friends, the furry girls aren’t so good on the internet.

3. Would you like to sleep in a human size nest in a tree or be snuggled in a burrowed spot underground? Another easy choice – a human size nest in a tree. I don’t do well in completely enclosed, dark spaces. I need light, fresh air and the sounds of nature. But can I take my insect repellent (organic, of course) with me?

4. In a car would you rather drive or be a passenger? That depends on who I’m in the car with. With my friends I’m fine both ways. When I was with husband (and some other male of the species), I’d prefer to be the driver. I’m not fond of being a passenger when the driver follows other cars more closely than I think is safe (and AARP agrees with me) or drives faster than I think road conditions justify. Besides which, I’m a bit of a control freak.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I’m grateful for the times when this independent furry girl gets into my lap and gets comfortable, with her quiet little purr adding to the pleasure

20140611-094625-35185088.jpg

and I’m grateful for the opportunity to enjoy a luxurious pedicure that leaves me with sparkly blue toes – although I’m thinking blue might be a little further out of my box than I’m comfortable with. But it’s fun, that’s what counts.

20140611-094659-35219314.jpg

I’m looking forward to days of sunshine, the blooming of more flowers, birdsong and the irritated chatter of the squirrels.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Share Your World – 2014 Week 23

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Your blue toenails gave me a huge smile. Reminds me of a robin’s egg. Thanks so much for sharing Carol. šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Carol – I echo a hearty “ditto” on everything except for the blue toenail polish. You”re rockin’ it!

    Like

  3. Joanne says:

    Just reading the first part of the first question made me feel jittery! But given the second choice, I’d go with the first any day! And I agree with Cee and Laurie, your colour choice of polish is great. šŸ™‚

    Like

  4. I’ve been thinking of doing blue toenails too, Carol. They’re definitely out of the box. I agree; I’d sleep in the tree; I get claustrophobic in enclosed spaces. I’d also take the airplane turbulence rather than a speeding race car. I need my time alone too, so I can relate to that.

    Hope all is well with you. I haven’t been in the blogosphere lately. šŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Those were some tough decisions to answer this week. Im not sure what I would choose for the second one. As for the nail color, I just chose a similar shade of blue.I think it looks great and summery. Enjoy yours with a sundress and some turquoise jewelry.

    Like

  6. pattisj says:

    What a pretty cat! No, cats usually aren’t good on the internet, but that doesn’t keep them from sleeping on the keyboard. You’re blue polish is pretty, but I don’t think it would be in my zone, either.

    Like

  7. Heather says:

    I agree with you on all counts, except I am generally the passenger because I’m the navigator on our roadtrips. Also, when I broke my ankle a few years back, I couldn’t drive at all for over two months. Somehow, we switched away from pretty even sharing of driving duties, and I don’t mind. That being said, I do take the wheel when I can if I’m with someone whose skills I don’t adore. Euphemistic enough?
    Your cat looks quite sweet. Like she’s cuddling with you. My cat is cuddling now. Earlier he was determined to stand on my shins. Didn’t matter where I put them, he kept needling me with his bones.
    Love the toes! They’re so spring-y…like a robin egg šŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Robin says:

    If I knew we could have Internet access, I might have chosen “alone for a month”, but I was thinking total isolation. Even though Cee made the burrow sound all warm and cozy, it just sounded like a nightmare – I’m with you – nest in a tree!

    Snazzy toe nails. It is fun to do something a little different once in a while. I like the color šŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Kathy says:

    What fun to read. I love the idea of a nest in a tree. Heard once about a spiritual practice where they actually put people up in hammocks in trees. It was supposed to open them spiritually. I think I would choose alone for a month, even without furry ones, husbands and internet. That sounds like a possible spiritual opening. šŸ™‚

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

