Blogging Blankness

It’s been a few days since I’ve blogged now. Funny how sometimes the words rush to the forefront and shout to be released; other times, there are no words to be shared, not even enough to allow for comments on the blogs I read. That’s where I’ve been the past few days – in blogging blankness.

Those are the only words that have been nagging at me since yesterday, so heaven only knows, if even heaven does, what might come forth in these next few lines.

I have walked around my gardens where the peonies have joined the iris in blooming. The first to bloom

P1020185

looks much like the second to bloom

P1020196

and happily I found a bee gathering nectar and spreading pollen.

P1020202

There are potted plants adding color. A sampling include the white petunia

P1020204

and the purple/fuschia calabrochoa. Calabrochoa are among my favorite little annuals for pots, like mini-petunias but they don’t need deadheading. Less work earns it points with me.

P1020203

Then there are the little succulents that I’ve called Hens and Chicks, but recently saw identified with another now forgotten name.

P1020205

There are more things to be planted in summertime pots. Maybe I’ll do that today. Don’t want to promise anything – it’s foolish for me to promise that I’ll get something done any given day because my mind may wander off to another project, or may decide to settle in my chair and watch out my morning window where I see pretty birds. These two Goldfinch are father and child I think – dad was showing the young one how to get the thistle seed out of the sock. He was, really – until I reached for my camera and the kid figured out how to do it on its own.

P1020189

And there was the male Black-headed Grosbeak that found the seed cake. His mate was with him – yes, she really was, until I reached for the camera and she departed. I would not tell you a lie, it did happen that way.

P1020191

Yesterday was our little town’s annual yard sale day, so the neighborhood girls gathered together to meet for breakfast, because breakfast out is a real treat sometimes, and then go see what there was to see. There was much to see, of course, but I did an admirable job of restraint and refusal to accumulate more things to clutter up my home. I did find a couple of nice stuffed animals for the Shasta girl – she is a girl who adores deconstructing stuffed animals, so it was time to replace a couple. Bailey is a ball girl, and has a basket full that don’t need to be replaced (yet) or added to. Shasta seemed to prefer the penguin I found.

P1020194

It makes me happy when my girls are happy.

Maybe I should go wash some windows. What do you think? Or maybe I’ll go on a hunt for whimsical things to photograph for Karma’s Photo Hunt.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Blogging Blankness

  1. Nice post. I’m glad you found the words today, I enjoyed them; and your pictures too.

    Like

  2. Dear Carol,
    This was a lovely post! When you run out of words, you can share a few photos from your garden–like the father/son goldfinches or Shasta and her new penguin–and that would be enough. But like today, the words will follow.
    So nice to hear from you!

    Like

  3. jay53 says:

    Oh, I so know how you feel. I’ve been in blogging blankness for some time now. I think part of my problem is that I no longer think the title of my blog particularly appropriate, so I’m playing with the idea of just starting up a new one with a slightly different focus.

    Your garden looks delightful. I think that the Hen & Chicks plant is otherwise known as Sempervivum or Houseleek!

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Yes, Jay, I’ve noticed your absence – but also the absence of mentioning any of the Depp Effects. Life has a way of changing, doesn’t it?

      I’ve heard the Sempervivum (That’s the proper name, isn’t it?) but I read a different common reference the other day. If only I had a clue where I read it.

      Like

  4. Kathy says:

    It’s only recently that I’ve begun to understand and experience blogging blankness, Carol. It is such an odd feeling. Do you find sometimes that pictures help during blogging blankness times? Once you’ve uploaded the photos the words just sort of happen. Usually.

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Yes, Kathy, the pictures definitely help. Sometimes they start the thread for a blog, other times (like today) the words just come as I post the pictures.

      Like

      • Kathy says:

        That was the only way I could do the outdoor blog daily for a year. Post the pictures and the words would just jump in to add their two cents. Happy weekend…

        Like

  5. Cee Neuner says:

    I really enjoyed your peony photos, especially the one with the bee on it. These are all great photos.

    Like

  6. Carol – I love the photos you’ve shared here today. The one of Shasta is priceless!

    Like

  7. Karma says:

    Thank you so much for the link! Your photos are very happy. Love the new header shot too!

    Like

  8. Carol – As to “Talons & Twigs” — I accidentally pushed “publish” instead of “draft.” Yikes! You’ll see that post this coming Tuesday 🙂

    Like

  9. I know what you mean that sometimes there’s just nothing to say. I love your flower, succulent and bird pictures. My Bailey loves to deconstruct stuffed animals too, so I know what that’s like. Shasta looks very content. The breakfast out with good friends sounds like a wonderful way to start the morning. 🙂

    Like

  10. pattisj says:

    I think you only need to wash the window where you watch your birds. 😉 That’s the only clean window on our house. Shasta does look content with her new penguin. Your flowers are lovely.

    Like

  11. Heather says:

    You’ve done better about blogging blankness than me! We end up doing stuff (whatever that is) until after sunset, and then we realize that it’s *late* and I have not blogged again. Finally opened the wordpress page tonight after 11:00pm. I’d resolve to do better, but I don’t see it happening just yet 😉
    I used to get pulled in to yard sales. I do better now, holding firmly to your attitude of not cluttering my house that already has enough. I will say that if Petey were less inclined to eat everything he could tear up, I’d get stuffed animals, too. My word is Shasta adorable cuddling that penguin.
    I always called those succulents “Hen and chicks,” too. I’m sure I’ll never remember their other name(s). Calabrochoa are a favorite of mine too, but only at someone else’s house. I am just not the person to care for annuals. Things around here are lucky to get enough water!

    Like

  12. Lisa says:

    I’m suffering from this ailment as well. Love your photos. They were just what I needed to lift my spirits a bit this morning…Friday the 13th…living up to it’s name well so far. xo

    Like

  13. Robin says:

    I have had blogging blankness for months. I love your beautiful flowers. You must spend a lot of time gardening. Considering I hate to sweat, dirt under my fingernails, and insects (they always bite me when no one else gets noticed); I would wash windows – and I hate washing windows 🙂

    The bird photos are really wonderful, even if they weren’t cooperating with your intended shots. Birds hate me as much as insects like me – at least the mockingbird in the tree out our front door. It attacks me so often (guarding babies) that I sometimes go out the garage, which is behind the house.

    Like

    • Carol says:

      I used to spend a lot of time in the gardens, a few years ago when I was younger and more energetic. Not so much now, evidenced by the grasses that are wandering into areas where they are not wanted.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

