Tell Me One More Time

Tell me, you elected officials, tell me one more time how it is that those of us over the age of 65, 67, 70 are draining the coffers of Washington with our “entitlements”, to which we truly are entitled you know, having paid into Social Security and Medicare for far more years than we will be drawing out of it.

After reading this article, posted in “What you need to know This Week” by This Week magazine, quoting an article in The Washington Post, I need a reminder, please.

This is a perfect example of how the government wastes billions of dollars

In the wake of the Sept. 11 attacks, the government decided to build a brand new headquarters for the Department of Homeland Security in southeastern Washington, D.C. The idea was that a centralized physical location would help close up the gaps between national security and intelligence agencies that allowed the attack to occur. The project was supposed to cost $3 billion and be completed by this year.

But so far virtually nothing has been built, according to The Washington Post; indeed, there is talk that the project will be canceled altogether. And yet the bill has already ballooned to $4.5 billion. It is a classic case of Washington dysfunction:

Bedeviled by partisan brawling, it has been starved of funds by both Republicans and Democrats in Congress and received only lackluster support from the Obama administration, according to budget documents and interviews with current and former federal officials.

The crippling shortfall in funding has created a vicious cycle, causing delays that in turn inflated the projected price tag as construction costs escalated over time and DHS agencies — still scattered in more than 50 locations across the Washington area — have been signing expensive temporary leases. [The Washington Post]

Ladies and gentlemen, your elected representatives.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Tell Me One More Time

  1. quarksire says:

    so agreeeeeddddd!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  2. Infuriating!! There is so much waste, and so many special interests in our government. $4.5 billion for absolutely nothing! Although, I can guarantee there are people getting rich off this failed project. Have you watched the Netflix series, House of Cards? I’m sure there is plenty of truth to that!!

    Like

    • Carol says:

      I have House of Cards on my watch list, but so far have not watched it. I must get started on that soon I think. But will it just make me angry and cause fits of ranting and raving, Catbird?

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

  3. Carol — I whole-heartedly echo your sentiment! 🙂

    Like

  4. cobbies69 says:

    I can only say, ‘Well said’ even though I am not an American.. 😉

    Like

  5. It so annoys me that the UK Government spends my money as though it is there own. Seems to be the same the World over!

    Like

  6. Certainly the same in Australia’s latest budget. Those who’ve contributed all their lives aren’t worth bothering about – let’s spend their money on lovely big strike fighters that we don’t need but hey, they look good, and who cares if they’ll be out of date by the time we get them?

    Like

  7. how sad to read that it is the same old “grab the most you can while in power” story all over the world 😦 so sad that it affects the most those who have worked hard and fought for these same thieves to have the luxury to steel and profit.. makes me think of my Grandpa 88years old WWII veteran living in Riga on approx 120 Eur (minimum wage in LV as of 2013 is 316 Eur) per months and our government is doing nothing for elderly people, nothing at all – everything goes into same kind of corrupt deals that bring absolutely no improvement of better life for the general population 😦 thank you for bringing this up and sharing your feelings – agree 100%. With greetings from Brussels, Signe

    Like

  8. Kathy says:

    May partisan brawling cease forevermore. (I don’t think that’s going to happen, but we can hope, right?)

    Like

  9. jay53 says:

    It’s the same here. There is a commonly held ‘the old are draining the coffers’ mentality and yet the retired have paid huge amounts into those coffers all their working lives. Then when they need the promised money to live on or need to use the healthcare to which they are entitled, they are told there’s nothing there. NHS healthcare is riddled with inadequacies and long waits for treatment, retirement homes will now take your home to sell to pay for the tiny room they allow you to live in and for your personal care (a frankly appalling level of ‘care’ in many cases).

    The elderly have paid twice: one in compulsory contributions and insurance money toward pensions payments, and once again when they need the services and must pay to use private doctors because the NHS can’t cope, or hand over their own personal properties in return for those services, or use their own savings to top up the inadequate pensions.

    We have been told for decades that the money we pay in as national insurance, PAYE for pensions, healthcare and top-up benefits etc would provide worry-free care for us in our golden years – and it is NOT our fault if that money has been mismanaged over the years and is no longer there. If all of those not-always-voluntary contributions had been invested privately (even kept under the mattress, for heaven’s sake) we would hardly be worse off. They are even continually moving the age of retirement upwards every few years to avoid paying out as long as possible.

    When I first began working, and for many decades afterwards, I was told that the age of retirement for women was 60 years. Well, I’m 60 now and I’m still expected to work and/or do without any benefits until 2018. This amounts to officially sanctioned fraud, in my book.

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Jay, based on comments to this post – as well as daily headlines – it would appear that the dysfunction and deceit of government is universal. How do we get back to having representation that is truly for the good of the country and the people and not the good of the representatives? Obviously the way we are is not working – but what is the answer? How do we shake things up and out, begin again, and give our countries and our peoples a fair chance? What do we have to do to allow ourselves to be able to afford to grow old? To allow our children a chance at a good education – not a passable education, but a good one. I vote for what appears to be the best representatives available, only to find that there is no teamwork, there is no consideration for what is best for all. Why do I waste my time in the voting process then? I could go on and on, and still I will have come to no viable conclusion.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

      • jay53 says:

        I have two thoughts: you start with proportional representation with a fixed term, so that the government in power truly reflects the wishes of the people and no government can stay in office too long. Then you make the people who govern the country responsible for the decisions they make on our behalf for life. That way, you’d stop the extremely blinkered view most government officials have of their job and force them to think beyond the next election.

        Oh yeah, and you make it impossible for any government to change the rules to benefit themselves – so, for instance, they cannot move the goalposts on election dates.

        What do you think?

        Like

      • Carol says:

        Sounds like the best plan I’ve heard, Jay.

        Sent from my iPad

        >

        Like

  10. Lisa says:

    It’s shameful the way our elected officials conduct business. They are so far out of touch with their constituents, it’s disgraceful. And both parties are to blame. I’m not sure there’s an honest one in the bunch. And I’ve long thought they all should have to live exactly the way we do….no special perks, benefits or income compensation. But it’s always easier to spend other people’s money rather than your own.

    Like

  11. Heather says:

    I wish this were the only story of waste. I spend most of my work day sifting through health care industry news, and am deeply dismayed at the amount of wasted money on electronic implementations that have gone the way of the $3B project above as well as more mundane wastes like the overly bloated certificate of need process. Ugh. Not picking a side here, but I am on board with the idea of term limits for Congress. I feel like it would be much harder to bribe/lobby/whatever elected officials if they couldn’t make a lifelong career out of the prospect.

    Like

  12. Robin says:

    Politics became so frustrating for me that I gave up. I feel “unrepresented”, and that lobbyists and personal agendas of those with the largest wallets win out over a government “of, by and for the people”.

    This February 2014, a bill was proposed in Congress – H.R. 20 Government By the People Act of 2014. I don’t know if it has been voted on, since I no longer follow politics very closely. However, this Act is supposed to close the gap between the wealthy and the rest of us, giving everyone’s vote equal (or at least closer to equal) weight.

    I am still in my 50’s, but I am afraid that by the time I reach my 60’s, the taxes that we have paid into Social Security and Medicare will have been so plundered that we will not receive the benefits they are supposed to provide. “Entitlements” makes it sound like people are expecting something they don’t rightfully deserve, let alone earned through years of hard work.

    This is a very thoughtful post, Carol.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

