More Panama City – the French Quarter

I found The French Quarter of Panama City very intriguing, a combination of old world elegance and decay.

P1010158

P1010168

The president of Panama lives in the French Quarter, in this large white structure you see below. It turns out the president was on his way here as we walked down the approaching street.

P1010157

When the president is arriving, the guards are out in force.

P1010167

We wandered down the streets

P1010171

past old churches

P1010173

P1010196

P1010183

some with bell towers

P1010191

P1010192

Past interesting doorways

P1010198

P1010185

Past a government building across from a park

P1010180

and another large building which may have been apartments, or a hotel, or a residence. I do not know.

P1010193

There were statues

P1010216

andthe real Panama hats.

P1010206

On we went to a flea market, where we stopped to shop for gifts to bring back to friends. And maybe one or two things for ourselves. Maybe.

P1010176

There will be one more post about Panama. It may be delayed because I may feel the need to just chatter. I think I have not done that for awhile.

I hope your day holds enough of everything.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More Panama City – the French Quarter

  1. Heather says:

    This part of the city feels cloistered like you only get in old places. Interesting to see new things creeping in though. A perfect spot to visit – vastly different from home and lots to see, but not somewhere I’d be happy living.

    Like

  2. I think I would love Panama’s French Quarter too, Carol. I love places that have that old world, decaying charm. I found that a lot in Portugal. Your photos are wonderful. šŸ™‚

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

