The Modern Panama City

P1010124

When we reached the Pacific shoreline in Panama City, we were in the heart of the modern part of the city, where there were many many high-rises.

P1010130

The twisted building on the right is called “The Wall”. Interesting, isn’t it?

P1010135

There is even a Trump Tower in Panama City, although I don’t think I managed to get a picture of it.

P1010138

Our guide told us the lower classes were not permitted in this part of the city – the wealthy part – unless they were there because they worked there. In my mind, that’s a despicable form of discrimination.

P1010142

The building below was on the outskirts of the city, and I believe it’s a museum.

P1010214

Little to say about this – it’s much like any other large city, each new building trying to be a little bit taller, a little bit more opulent than those around it.

Next time we’ll visit the French Quarter. In the meantime, I hope your days are filled with enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Modern Panama City

  1. Rosemarie says:

    Unbelievable that lower classes are not permitted in parts of the city. The buildings are unusual, but very much like an American city. I think a lot of Americans retire to Panama. Rosemarie

    Like

  2. This is fascinating, Carol. I don’t really know anything about this place–thanks for letting me tag along. I wonder how they decided whether to let you into the golden part of the city–how you dress? I would be really interested in knowing how they enforce that. Looking forward to more stories and photos!

    Like

  3. jay53 says:

    One of the saddest things to my mind, when we travel, is finding all cities looking the same – right down to the McDonalds on the corner. It’s nice to see some innovative buildings, isn’t it? I love the multicoloured, multi-roofed one!

    Like

  4. suzicate says:

    The twisted building is awesome! The museum is kind of strange looking to me though.

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    Love the twisted building; wonder what kind of mind makes that possible! And also wondering what kind of mind makes the discrimination possible. Sigh. Sill enjoying your vibrant photos and trip memories; keep sharing šŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Robin says:

    “The Wall” is an unusual name for a twisted building. I wonder how they enforce that policy about prohibiting poor people from crossing the boundary into the wealthy people’s territory? Despicable is putting it nicely. Your photos of the city are wonderful, in spite of their blatant discrimination that they are apparently proud of, since it is a part of the tour speech.

    I really like your phrase: I hope your days are filled with enough.

    Like

  7. Wow, Carol, I love that twisted building and the colorful museum. That is really horrible about not allowing the lower classes into the wealthy part of the city. It seems that more and more, the gulf between the haves and the have-nots gets wider and wider.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

