Share Your World – 2014 Week 12

It is a gray day here following a week of spring and I have opted to stay inside and play. No work today, all play. It really is not a plot to inundate you with posts, but it seemed a good time to get back into the groove with sharing my world with Cee – and all of you.

1. What is your most favorite smell/scent? Freshly baked bread, baby powder, newly mown grass. Lilacs in bloom, a bouquet of peonies. Something cooking in the oven, or a soup or stew on top of the stove. Although I do not have a good sense of smell, those will always draw me in and awaken the drool mode – well, almost all of them do that. Baby powder, lilacs, peonies and newly mown grass don’t make me drool, but I do love the smell.

2. How do you write: computer, longhand or other? If I’m scribbling notes or lists, longhand. But for writing – like this blog post or a letter or thoughts or anything that I want to be more than just facts or notes, always the computer. I seem to think better with fingers on a keyboard. That also eliminates the need to decipher what I’ve written later. My handwriting has deteriorated with time.

3. Your favorite blog post that you have written? (add link) To answer this would require going back and reading every single blog post. Then making a decision. I don’t know – someone else would have to be the judge of that. Sorry, copping out on this one.

4. What’s one of your favorite books from childhood? Is this a memory test this week? The books I remember reading and enjoying when I was probably around 10 or thereabouts were The Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew. I was an insatiable reader but I still rarely remember titles of books – or movies – or songs. What can I say?

5. Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? An easy one. I’m grateful to be home again, I’m grateful to have had the opportunity to go on the cruise, to spend time with my friend. I’m grateful for the past few days of spring during which I got quite a lot of yard cleanup done, and I am grateful for a rainy day or so – my body is really grateful. I’m grateful – always – that my kids have found lives they are loving. I’m grateful for my friends. The week coming up? I am looking forward to arising every day, to breathing, to having time to do some of the things I want to do and some of the things I need to do. Living – it’s a wonderful thing, bumps and all.

There are some things blooming in my house just now, and a few things blooming in the yard – very early this year. Here are those things:

20140325-120513.jpg

20140325-120539.jpg

20140325-120600.jpg

20140325-120623.jpg

20140325-120643.jpg

20140325-120703.jpg

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Share Your World – 2014 Week 12

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    I adore your new gravatar … the one thing I’d like to do is swim with dolphins. Anyhow I adored your answers. You are allowed to opt out of a question ever once in awhile. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I was a Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew fan, too β€” and I’m still an insatiable reader.

    Like

  3. suzicate says:

    Love all those blooms!

    Like

  4. Freshly baked bread is definitely one of my favorites!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Share Your World – 2014 Week 12 | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  6. Pingback: Share Your World – 2014 Week 12 | Stuphblog

  7. lisa says:

    It looks like spring has sprung in your part of the world. Such a nice welcome home present! I’ve noticed that I type so much now-a-days that my handwriting has really gone downhill. 😦 Fresh baked bread is a favorite smell of mine but I completely forgot about LILACS!!!! Love them too.

    Like

  8. pattisj says:

    Loving your blooms. I was a Nancy Drew fan, too. Another who now has bad handwriting!

    Like

  9. Joanne says:

    I think that my personal favourite blog posts of yours always include stories of your fury girls Carol, but your bird visitors and garden are always gorgeous too. That’s a really difficult question to answer….Your flowers today are so colourful too. πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. Robin says:

    I didn’t know we could cop out on answering questions. You have a little bit of rebel in you πŸ™‚

    Your food smells made me drool a little, too.

    I loved Nancy Drew. My mother insisted on buying me Trixie Belden. Books are not the only place she did that. She always chose something that make me stick out from other children, rather than help me fit in. Oops…back to Nancy Drew. I used to borrow her books from the library. When we went outside to play, I would get everyone to play a part and we would act out her mysteries around the neighborhood. I always played Nancy.

    I can’t believe so much spring has sprung around you. How lovely! Beautiful photos.

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Sounds like your mother had a bit of rebel in her too, which she tried to pass on to you.

      Our spring has blown away and we are now getting wind and the clouds are sending white flakes our way now and then. Oh well, spring will come back one day.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

  11. Heather says:

    “Living – it’s a wonderful thing, bumps and all.” It’s things like this that are my favorite, and your blogs are littered with them πŸ™‚
    Your blooms are early; I think ours will be late. Just got back from a brief visit to Ohio and was hoping (but not expecting) more progress on our snow melt. Still about four feet in the drifts along our road 😦
    I remember the Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew, and The Boxcar Kids, but my favorites from childhood are The Bridge to Terabithia (not sure on the spelling, and not asking google…) and Where the Red Fern Grows. Both still make me cry as an adult.

    Like

  12. Love your pretty blooms! I love the smell of peonies too, as well as something good cooking on the stove! (You know me and food!). I understand about handwriting deteriorating with age. What’s the deal with that anyway?? I like to write on computer, so I can correct all the mistakes I make. I share your love of Nancy Drew. Glad you’re home and have a day to relax and play. πŸ™‚

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

