Half Moon Cay

Our first stop, after cruising overnight, was Half Moon Cay, Bahamas. It is a Cay (pronounced key, but your probably already knew that. I didn’t) because it is too small to be an island we were told. The dictionary defines it as a low-lying island. Our first sight of Half Moon Cay
P1000587
The ship anchored aways out, so the tenders had to be lowered
P1000649
to transport us to shore

inside the tender, looking to the bottom

inside the tender, looking to the bottom


We’ve arrived! Excitement! A new place to explore, a beach for relaxing.
P1000593
The typical “you are here” map
P1050012
Greeting us, a lovely sight, but very commercial
P1050018
it is, after all, strictly a tourist area. The island is owned (or leased?) by Holland America. There are 45 staff members that live there year-round, primarily maintenance people. The guides and other staff travel in each day from their home island one and one-half hours away.
In the entry area, a fountain circled by Conch shells
P1000596
a not-well-centered closeup of a shell – blame it on the fact that the sun was incredibly bright and I could not see what I was capturing. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.
P1000595
Then, on with our nature walk. I will share photos, some of which may get a bit of explanation, some of which may just leave it to your imagination.
sea grape bushes

sea grape bushes


P1000619
the Stingray area, sharing his space with starfish. Or sea stars.

the Stingray area, sharing his space with starfish. Or sea stars.


P1000612
Jet skiers returning

Jet skiers returning


P1000610
The guide said this was a pine tree, although I've forgotten what kind.

The guide said this was a pine tree, although I’ve forgotten what kind.


P1000602
Our guide, demonstrating weaving with the fan palm

Our guide, demonstrating weaving with the fan palm


P1000597
P1000594
Our nature walk was over, so we headed to the beach where we had reserved a half clamshell shelter – for shade, because the sun was intense.
comfort

comfort


P1000634
the view from the water

the view from the water


We did get into the beautiful clear, aqua waters. Partly in, at least. It was chilly and my tender tummy parts stopped me from diving in all the way. Basic chicken. Wimpy. But it was heaven!

And then, it was time to head back to the dock to board the tender and go back to the ship. Although we stayed in the shade, or at least partial shade, most of the time, I left the beach with a bit more red than I had arrived with. In some places, maybe more than a “bit”. Souvenir of the day!

One of the many mockingbirds we saw

One of the many mockingbirds we saw


P1000647
One of the chickens, which the guide said were prolific. They are now trying to reduce the numbers as they are with the cats that were brought in to get rid of rodents and promptly multiplied. Like locusts. We did not see the cats because apparently they are wise enough to only come out at night.
P1000639
Bougainvillea was plentiful on Half Moon Cay, vivid and beautiful!
P1000638
P1000646
But we could not.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Half Moon Cay

  1. This is all new to me, Carol. The cruise boat culture and that part of the world, so I am really enjoying both the photos and your stories.

    Like

  2. Beautiful!
    I’m suitably jealous 🙂

    Like

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    I love the sentiment in your last shot. I actually just learned that Cay was pronounced like key. I learned it from the Island Hunters show on HGTV. Beautiful photography!

    Like

  4. Looks like a lovely day, Carol. Hope you didn’t hurt from your sunburn. It looks like a bit of paradise, a commercial paradise, but paradise nonetheless. 🙂

    Like

  5. love, Love, LOVE your vivid photos — especially “comfort” 🙂

    Like

  6. cobbies69 says:

    I can feel the warmth just looking at your pictures. 😉

    Like

  7. Trisha says:

    What a beautiful place! And you did a great job capturing its beauty in your photos. Very nice!

    Like

  8. lisa says:

    I think that last sign says it all. I love the one of the jet skis returning. It’s beautiful!

    Like

  9. Robin says:

    It all looks so warm and bright and beautiful! I think I’ll sit here for a while and imagine my feet in the sand…

    Like

  10. Heather says:

    Well, I don’t know about forever, but I certainly enjoyed visiting for a while through your photos! As I look outside to see a few feet of snow still lingering, the blue water and sunshine feels like a dream 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

