When Mom’s Away, the Cats Will Play

We are home! I am happily home. The trip was wonderful – there will probably be more on that as time goes by – but it is good to be home.

And when I was gone, this innocent litte creature

20140319-093734.jpg
Encouraged and aided by this equally innocent little creature, I am sure

20140319-093916.jpg
Had a very good time

20140319-094022.jpg
All over the house, they had a very good time

20140319-094111.jpg

20140319-094144.jpg
They found their way to the shelves on which the baskets and bins of yarn live. Many times, until the friends who came to make sure they had food and water grew weary of picking up yarn – which I can understand completely.

They obviously also spent some time racing about and wrestling on the beds and the Bailey blanket that is in front of the TV. Amazingly they did not tear apart my current knitting project, despite the fact that I forgot to put it away. Their only comment in response to my question to them – after I got over the laughter that engulfed me when I walked in – was “Yes? What? Do you have a problem?”

But I also came home to this:

20140319-094627.jpg
And signs of spring all over outside. Daffodils popping up everywhere, the earliest of which have buds showing yellow. Crocus and primrose in bloom, tulips, daylilies and iris pushing up their spring green stalks. Time to get out there and start cleaning out flowerbeds, early this year. And I have not yet finished my inside spring cleaning! Oh well, choices will be made, and during the warmest parts of the days coming I believe the choices will lean in favor of venturing outside. Because there is that ever-present chance that spring will depart again for awhile. There are always those March, April and May snow chances.

In the meantime, I revel in the springiness of the world outside my windows and the pleasure of being – just being, as well as being home.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to When Mom’s Away, the Cats Will Play

  1. lisa says:

    Oh my!! LOLOL! Your photos made me laugh…..but it’s really not funny…..or is it? πŸ™‚ Guess there’s a good reason for that saying. In any case, glad you are home safe and sound. And thank you for taking time to include us in your wonderful vacay trip!

    Like

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    I bet you were to exhausted to laugh or cry!!! Glad to hear you had a great time!!! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Oh my gosh, their “creative handiwork” is absolutely hysterical!

    Like

  4. Karma says:

    LOL, that yarn all over the house is so funny! At least they were able to amuse themselves pretty well in your absence it appears! So nice that spring is arriving for you. The calendar claims the big day is tomorrow, but we are still waiting on snow to melt, and much warmer temperatures around here.

    Like

  5. suzicate says:

    Look like the cats had a holiday as well! They do like to get into mischief while we’re gone.
    Your cactus is gorgeous!

    Like

  6. Heather says:

    Laughed so much Tony had to come share. He didn’t read, but I scrolled silently over the two cat photos down to the yarn photos and he laughed too. Sometimes you just have to laugh. It really is good to be home, isn’t it? πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Cat’s revenge! And I bet the dogs were angels! It sounds like you had a marvelous trip and now it’s spring -at last!

    Like

  8. Robin says:

    It’s good to know that while you were away having a good time; your cats were at home doing the same πŸ™‚

    I didn’t have yarn about, but my cats (when I had cats) liked to unravel the toilet paper. Do you think they ever played with one cat toy I bought for them? Of course not.

    Like

  9. Dawn says:

    How funny! Glad they had as good a time as you did during your vacation!

    Like

  10. Too funny! An you picked the perfect time to go away, during the last gasp of winter. It might be hard to come home from the tropics and head right back into winter. Now you can enjoy the spring. I bet the girls are happy to have their mom back! Glad you are home safe and sound.

    Like

  11. jay53 says:

    Hahahahaha! Your cats had a little ‘holiday’ of their own!!

    Like

  12. I’m sure it felt wonderful to get back home, Carol. Your little cats must have missed you very much to make such a ruckus with your yarn. Isn’t it fabulous to know you were missed? πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Carol says:

      I know my big furry girls missed me, and maybe the Twiggy cat. But I believe Lily was the primary culprit with the yarn and it was not because she missed me – other than the fact that I was not here to “open that damn door now!” She is very much all about Lily.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

