Day Four

Day Four was spent at Half Moon Cay, Bahamas. Half Moon Cay is a private island that Holland America leases from the Bahamian Government. Only 50 of its 2400+ acres have been developed.

We did a Nature Walk first thing in the morning, which was nice. We did not see a lot of fauna, but learned some interesting facts about the flora.

Then to the beach. The wonderful, amazing beach with waters of several shades of blue and powdery white sands. The Artistic One shows no red whatsoever, her complexion being much tanner than mine to begin with. I have red because my body has not been in a bathing suit for many years and therefore there are many parts that see little sun.

The day was relaxing – just heaven – once we finished having to queue up for something one more time, and before we queued up for the line to get back aboard a departure time. We shared the Cay (did you know a Cay – pronounced Key – is the word used for a piece of land too small to be called an island? I didn’t) with another Holland America ship that day – the Niew Amsterdam, so the beach was littered with people.

Now just a couple of photos to share a wee bit of what we saw.

20140309-115621.jpg

20140309-115742.jpg

20140309-115822.jpg

20140309-115850.jpg

20140309-115924.jpg

20140309-115949.jpg

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Day Four

  1. I just can’t get over the breathtaking blue, Blue, BLUES that you shared. Amazing!

    Like

  2. Marylee Plitt says:

    Looking pretty good ladies. Hope Sandy’s over her punky cold. Wish we were there w/you two. ENJOY…

    Like

  3. I can settle with every few days getting a recap. I know how expensive Internet connections are on board. I wasn’t expecting to hear til you got back. The one cruise I have taken was the Ms Nieuw Amsterdam in the Mediterranean. If you are on a similar ship, I can tell you our favorite place to hang out was the Crows Nest. If you havent discovered it yet, go on a quest, esp at Happy Hour. I hope you didnt bring a pile of books to read because after a land excursion, the evening entertainment program was the draw instead of committing to my books. Love the pic of the ray and also you on the beach. Enjoy!

    Like

  4. Geoff says:

    Wow, that’s so great. I’m glad you’re having fun. Beautiful beach!

    Like

  5. What wonderful, warming photos! So thrilled to read anything you can toss our way during your adventure! The more the better ~ we’re expecting yet another 12″ of snow in Upstate New York on Wednesday. *shivers* I would SO rather be on a cruise!

    Like

  6. Heather says:

    Seeing these photos is like looking at a sigh. I am sure that’s what a sigh looks like. I can almost feel the warm breeze and the heat of the sun on my skin. Ahhhhh!

    Like

  7. lisa says:

    And NOW you understand my need for sun, sand and surf in the dead of winter!! πŸ™‚ Wonderful shots!

    Like

  8. Coming from the Pacific Northwest, I will never take warm salty water for granted. Looks like a wonderful trip!

    Like

  9. It looks like paradise, Carol. Oh I could use some beach time right now. I didn’t know that about the “cay,” so I learned something new.

    Like

  10. Joanne says:

    The water is so blue and beautiful! You sure did leave winter behind when you left home. πŸ™‚

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

