Signs of Spring

There are some signs of spring out there. They may be a bit tenuous, but they’re enough to encourage me to believe perhaps it will come early to our part of the world. And if it does – to those of you east of the Rockies, I shall huff and I shall puff and I shall blow spring your way.

20140303-144209.jpg
In the mornings when I have my coffee, Shasta often joins me, jumping into what used to be husband’s chair, watching, watching out the window, ready to save me from peril if some wild creature chooses to venture into the yard. Wild creature like – a rabbit, maybe. Or a neighbor dog or cat. The big, ferocious wild creatures that are wont to this way come.

20140303-144439.jpg
We have been seeing birds in the tree outside my window. Goldfinch, this pair I believe are Lesser Goldfinch, have recently joined us.

20140303-144603.jpg
On a sunny day they shine more brightly.

20140303-144715.jpg
An Oregon Junco – I rarely see them at a feeder. They usually prefer to feed on the ground. Perhaps the ground doesn’t have much to offer these days.

20140303-144841.jpg
Chickadees – or nuthatches. I cannot be sure. Sometimes, sometimes far too often, they pose beautifully. Until I click the camera. It’s as if they have an agreement, to sit prettily until the creature on the other side of the glass puts the black thing to her eye. Then – move! Hide your faces. As they do this, they do not chuckle. They laugh – then they fly away to tell their friends about this oh-so-fun game.

20140303-145422.jpg
This is a red-breasted nuthatch. He had not yet heard about the game. He was followed by a purple finch and his mate, but they had heard about the game and so they shall not find their 15 seconds of fame on my blog. Yet. I have patience and I have time. They will be back.

These signs are enough for me. For now. Maybe – just maybe – those of you that are still being pelted by freezing rain and white flakes falling from the sky and those of you whose outdoor temperatures refuse to climb to melt the snow and ice, will take heart. Hold on to hope. It will come, spring will. We will hope for sooner rather than later.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Signs of Spring

  1. Robin says:

    lol! I love this: “It’s as if they have an agreement, to sit prettily until the creature on the other side of the glass puts the black thing to her eye.” Almost all the birds seem to get word of that game eventually. It was lovely seeing your signs of spring. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Carol – I’m absolutely compelled to take heart and hold on to hope. Spring has simply got to be just around the corner! As always, loved your photographs!

    Like

  3. Joanne says:

    Haha, birds can be very fickle when cameras are around, but I find that if the same birds stay around long enough and get to know you, they pose for a photo! I think Shasta is longing for spring too, she wants to go outside to play. Our weather is cooling here, so everyone is on the verge of the season they long for. πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. LG says:

    Sighing at the beauty of your spring start. Two days after I wrote about the amazing weather we’ve had in our part of the world, it got burning hot. An apparently never-ending and sweltering summer awaits us.

    Like

  5. A delightful reminder of warmer days ahead! Thank you! This has been one crazy winter. I’ve been listening to the Carolina Wrens singing up a storm and waiting patiently for the goldfinch to arrive. The singing began in earnest when it hit 70 over the weekend, but it crashed into the 20’s again and all is quiet. But, alas, it is just around the corner!

    Like

  6. Heather says:

    I just love your birds. One of the things that really stood out (aside from all the green!) was how many birds were flying around down south. I tend to forget just how quiet it gets during the winter.
    Speaking of which, you should save your breath. I’m not sure anyone can huff and puff hard enough to get spring here – but I appreciate the effort!

    Like

  7. Lovely post, Carol! I’ve begun hearing birds, but haven’t seen many yet!

    Like

  8. I wish you would blow the spring air our way, Carol. It is snowing, yet again, as I’m writing this and looking out my window!! Love the signs of spring, even if they are far, far away from us! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Our spring departed. We had snow overnight which melted by noon so now it’s snowing again. Fickle weather!

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

      • Same here, Carol. We had snow all day Sunday, though it didn’t stick, and yesterday was sunny and cool. Today is supposed to be gorgeous, so I’ll head out for a walk soon. πŸ™‚

        Like

I'd love to hear from you!

