Share Your World – 2014 Week 8

I’ve been busy the past couple of days – I feel like I’ve gotten a fair amount done, although I seem to do it rather slowly. It’s that cleaning chore, you know – the one I’d thought would be done before we leave for the cruise but I’m now reconciled to finishing it when we return. That’s how it goes.

Anyway, it’s late afternoon now and I have some time before I settle in to watch The Voice (on an east coast feed so I get it early) and have leftovers for dinner, so I’m responding to Cee’s weekly challenge to share.

1. Would you rather be given $10,000 for your own use or $100,000 to give anonymously to strangers? Let me tell you up front, the selfishness is going to show here. I would take the $10,000 – if I were given $100,000 and could split it 50-50, I would be more than happy to give away the 50% anonymously. Thrilled, in fact.

20140225-162957.jpg
But you see, $10,000 would give me opportunities to travel

20140225-163053.jpg
and after a lifetime of working for a living, to support myself and my kids and not having been in a position (or wise enough) to educate myself to the degree where I could have been in a profession that provided a comfortable retirement, I am feeling justified. That’s called rationalization.

2. When you’re 90 years old, what will matter most to you? Probably the fact that I lived to be 90 years old. The fact that I have my faculties and am still able to care for myself, because I’m assuming that if I live to be 90 I’ll do it well. After that, my kids and my friends.

3. Candy factories of the entire world have become one and will now be making only one kind of candy. Which kind, if you were calling the shots? Oh, chocolate of course! Dark chocolate. Maybe with some peanut butter.

4. So, you’re on your way out and it’s raining. Do you know where your umbrella is or do you frantically search for it all over your apartment/house? Unlike many things in my house, the umbrella is always in the same spot. So far. So far I have not decided another spot would be a better location for it, because when I make that decision, then hunting all over follows. What seems a “safe” spot for something today, doesn’t come to mind tomorrow when I want it. The umbrella has been safe and has lived here for the past nearly 15 years

20140225-163933.jpg
In the same little room where the coats that are used most often reside

20140225-164030.jpg

That does it for today. I’m wishing all of you lives filled with enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Share Your World – 2014 Week 8

  1. Dark chocolate with peanut butter — yes ma’am, you’re my kind of gal! 🙂

    Like

  2. I’m with you on the money thing. $10G seems like a nice indulgence. $100G I could easily divide and share. Also anything dark chocolate possibly w peanut butter is all I crave for candy. Enjoy your cruise. Can’t wait to hear about it when you return. Husband and I took a cruise w/ his mom shortly after she was widowed and it really helped her refocus her life agenda (some of my first posts were about this experience). I am sure this will be a great experience for you as well. Best regards, Laura.

    Like

  3. Robin says:

    I went for the $10,000, too. And chocolate! My umbrella has a place, even though I don’t use it often.

    I love your colorful profile picture! Enjoy your cruise 🙂

    Like

  4. Heather says:

    The money questions are just never easy. That self-indulging part shines right through doesn’t it? I want to travel, too!
    And yes to the dark chocolate. And aging with health and faculties in place. And also about finding a “safe” or “smarter” place for something and then promptly forgetting where that place is. When I was teaching, I had a place where I put all my copies. But nearly every time I gave a quiz or test, I would set the entire stack down someplace – you know, better or smarter or more convenient. Lost the stack every time and had to enlist my kiddos to help me find it 😉

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Thank you, Heather! I’ve been attributing that “safe place” syndrome to age so it’s comforting to hear that perhaps it’s just a human foible. The result of having too much info in the brain, yes?

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

  5. Heather says:

    Oh, not sure when you’re leaving on your cruise, but enjoy!

    Like

  6. lisa says:

    A 90+ year old friend of the family just passed away last week. Even at 90+, she lived on her own and wasn’t reliant on too many people to get around. That’s what I want to be at that age! The thought of having to live the last years of my life in a nursing home scare the begeezes out of me. And yes….dark chocolate all the way.

    Like

  7. Cee Neuner says:

    I would contribute to you travel plans….so I would at least double the $10,000 for you!!! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

