Sometimes the Opportunity for an Adventure Presents Itself

Not long ago, I alluded to a cruise in my future – a new adventure! Yes, indeed, The Artistic One and I are going on a cruise. We’ll traverse the roadways to Portland, where we shall board a plane that will ply the skies and deliver us to Fort Lauderdale, Florida. We will spend a day there, then board a Holland-America ship bound for the Panama Canal, with stops in Half Moon Cay, Aruba, Curacao, the Canal (of course) and Puerto Limon, Costa Rica. We have excursions booked for each of these stops, including a historic nature walk, a submarine underwater adventure, a sunset cruise, a dolphin encounter, stopping after entering the first lock of the canal at Lake Gatun where we will depart the ship and take a land tour traversing the Trans-Isthmus Highway from the Atlandtic to the Pacific, with stops in parts of Panama City, rejoining the ship in Colon, Panama. From there we will travel to Puerto Limon, Costa Rica, where we will take the Veragua Rainforest eco-adventure and tour the Tortuguero Canals.

We will spend two days crossing a sea or two and a bit of the Atlantic Ocean to return to Fort Lauderdale, where we will take the Everglades Airboat Ride and then transfer to the Fort Lauderdale airport, for our flight back to Portand. We, or at least I, anticipate those two days at sea will be welcome – I expect we (or I) will be ready for the rest and relaxation.

You do realize, don’t you, that to have an adventure like this, one must have a proper wardrobe. Since my at-home wear consists primarily of jeans and sweatshirts or tees, it was necessary for me to – shop! Shop! Shop! Some things were found locally, some things required the internet (thank goodness for the internet!). Between the cruise shopping and shopping for the changes I’ve been making in my house, effective NOW, I can do no more shopping. Effective NOW, I must start putting away pennies for future adventures. NOW = the time before we leave for the cruise, and after we return from the cruise. NOW does not include while we are on the cruise.

Let me share with you what this shopping has reaped:
outfits for the two formal dinners

20140216-124431.jpg Can you see it in the photos? Those chiffon pants (lined, or course) have little sparkles in the fabric. Luscious!
Dresses and skirts and tops for the smart casual dinners

20140216-124544.jpg

20140216-124600.jpg

20140216-124641.jpg

20140216-124655.jpg

20140216-124710.jpg

20140216-124724.jpg

20140216-124735.jpg
The cruise is a ten-day cruise with two formal dinner nights and the rest smart casual dinner nights. If you’re counting, you may note that there is one too many outfits here, so one of them may have to be daytime wear. Actually, I think more than one will get worn daytimes as well as at dinner. Because, you see, I will also be taking casual tops to be worn with capris or skirts

20140216-125002.jpg
wraps for the possible chilly times

20140216-125243.jpg
the first swimsuits I have owned in over 20 years and a serape (the very first I have ever owned) because one cannot be in tropical weather and on a ship with a swimming pool without these necessities.

20140216-125436.jpg
And one must have shoes of varying types

20140216-125514.jpg
as well as a caftan and leggings for lounging in our room, which has a veranda for morning coffee and evening wine

20140216-125558.jpg

The camera will go with me of course. In fact, since my 16GB SD card will only allow me to take between 2,000 an 3,000 pictures, I felt a need to get two more cards – 8GB each. So I can take between 4,000 and 5,000 pictures. You’re invited to come over when we return and look at every single one of them. That excites you, doesn’t it?

The iPad will also go, and I’ve purchased an SD card reader that will allow me to upload a picture or two now and then. I do not know how much time I will actually spend posting or emailing, because onboard the ship, it is necessary to pay for internet time.

I am ready to go. I am wondering if my one big suitcase and a carry-on will be sufficient. We shall see, won’t we? Sixteen days till we leave. But who’s counting?

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sometimes the Opportunity for an Adventure Presents Itself

  1. Wowee kazowee – you’re gonna rock that ship, girl! 👠

    Like

  2. You are going to look and feel DAZZLING on this cruise, Carol. I’m so excited for you! I can’t wait to see your 5,000 pictures. Too bad I don’t live on the west coast so I could drop in for a trip through the Panama Canal after it’s all said and done. Your outfits are really fabulous. You must have had a great time shopping. Hugs to you and bon voyage!! 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh, Carol, what an adventure! And I loved the preview of your wardrobe. The outfits are all lovely, but my favorite is the long black skirt with the orangey top. VERY classy and artsy! I am so looking forward to tagging along through your blogs. I’m happy to wait until your cruise is over, but I definitely want to see lots of photos, and hear all about it!

    Like

  4. Heather says:

    Ohmygosh I am so excited for you! Your outfits all look so flowy and breezy – something outfits around these parts have not been for some time 😉 I’m not sure about 5,000 photos, but I am certainly looking forward to those you choose to share. Wave at me on your way – I think I’ll be in Orlando as you head out of Fort Lauderdale. Must be travel time!

    Like

  5. LG says:

    WOW. I feel like I am going on that cruise with you. And I will when you return and post those pictures.
    Lovely clothes. You are going to paint the yacht red, I am sure.
    Have a great time, and I’ll wait for your posts.

    Like

  6. dawnkinster says:

    Wow! You are going to look marvelous! Can not wait to hear and see all about it!

    Like

  7. Karma says:

    Oh Carol how wonderful and exciting!!! I am so happy for you. It sounds like you’ve chosen a great cruise and I am sure you will have a wonderful time. You will look fabulous in the clothes you’ve chosen. Don’t forget your sunscreen! Lots of it – I recommend SPF 50!

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Sunscreen is in the basket on my dresser for things that must go, along with insect repellent and a seasickness wrist band and several other things, Karma.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

  8. Karma says:

    P.S. and so cool that you’ve chosen a dolphin encounter. That was the highlight of my cruise 2 years ago.

    Like

  9. Lynne Ayers says:

    You DID shop! You are going to be the best dressed gal on board, Carol. Enjoy. Enjoy. And Enjoy! And so many stories for us when you return. 🙂

    Like

  10. Mort says:

    Carol, how exciting for you. Have a wonderful time enjoying the fantastic weather and think of everyone back here in the wet and cold. Just kidding. Don’t waste a second of your wonderful adventure thinking of anything negative. Just give us a complete report when you return.

    Like

  11. Sheri B says:

    WOW!!! You will be among the classiest and best dressed on board!! Way to go, Carol!!

    Like

  12. lisa says:

    Oooooo! I love it! Looks like you’ll be a stunning passenger aboard that ship! I’m so happy you’re getting to take this little adventure. And looking forward to all the glorious photos you’ll post after you return. Go have some fun….you deserve it! 🙂

    Like

  13. jay53 says:

    Wow .., that does sound like an adventure! You have certainly been busy with the shopping, too, haven’t you? I love the sparkly chiffon pants and the kaftan top. I looooove kaftans! I use them for lounging around at home quite a lot.

    Have fun!! But you don’t need me to tell you that! Waiting to hear about your trip. Those are places I’ve never been nor likely to go.

    Like

  14. Kathy says:

    I am so darn excited about your cruise! And I love your skirts so much. Especially the red and black ones. It sounds like you’re going to lots of really neat places and that you will have so many photos to share you’ll be blogging until you’re 110. P.S. I would need a whole new wardrobe if going on a cruise.

    Like

  15. mselene says:

    How fun! Enjoy! 🙂

    (PS, just thought I’d let you know that you’re my favorite commenter, whenever I see a comment from you I know I’m in for a kind word.)

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

